Welcome to the Third day of my Almost Heaven West Virginia Blog Bash.

 Here is a map of WV and above the W in West Virginia you will see Parkersburg, we are moving about 15 miles inland from there. Today is moving day, my house is only about 50% packed so I will be coming back to RI in 7 days to hopefully finish packing. It will be easier without the kids…I hope.

Welcome to all my followers and visitors, I am having a month-long celebration in my husbands honor. My husband Denny is retiring from the Navy after serving for 24 years. We are packing up one last time and moving back to his home state of Wild Wonderful West Virginia. Each post will start off with a picture to showcase West Virginia.  Everyday their will be a prize up for grabs and at the end we’ll be giving away some chocolate.

Please follow the rules posted at the end of each post to enter the daily contests and remember you don’t have to subscribe to win but I hope you decide to stick around. Also any post that contain super erotic material will carry the warning label so as not to shock or offend anyone upon opening.

So once again with-out further ado I am so very happy to introduce Karen Ranney author of Scottish Historical Romance. Which includes one of my all time favorite comfort reads, My Beloved.     I had read a few of Karen’s books before meeting her on Tartan Ink   http://tartaninkblog.wordpress.com/   and her blog Warm Fuzzies http://karenranney.wordpress.com/. She is such a down to earth lady and her dog Flash can be a real hoot when she relates his adventures.

Today Karen is showcasing  two books  A Scottish Love 

Shona Imrie should have agreed to Gordon MacDermond’s proposal of marriage seven years ago—before he went off to war and returned a national hero—but the proud Scottish lass would accept no man’s charity. The dashing soldier would never truly share her love and the passion that left her weak and breathless — or so she believed—so instead she gave herself to another. Now she faces disgrace, poverty, and a life spent alone for her steadfast refusal to follow her heart.

Honored with a baronetcy for his courage under fire, Gordon has everything he could ever want—except for the one thing he most fervently desires: the headstrong beauty he foolishly let slip through his fingers. Conquering Shona’s stubborn pride, however, will prove his most difficult battle—though it is the one for which he is most willing to risk his life, his heart, and his soul.

and My True Love    Anne Sinclair has been haunted by visions of a handsome black-haired warrior all her life. His face invades her dreams and fills her nights with passionate longing.  So the beautiful laird’s daughter leaves her remote Scottish castle, telling no one, to search for the man named Stephen–a man she does not  know but who fights in war-torn England, a place she has never seen.

Steven Harrington, Earl of Langlinais, never expected to rescue this unexplained beauty from the hands of his enemy. And yet, when their eyes first meet, he feels from the depth of his soul that he should know her…that he needs to touch her, and keep her by his side forever.  For unknown to both of them, they are in the center of a centuries-old love…a love that is about to surpass their wildest dreams.

Ok so it’s Q&A time: So Karen…..tells us…..

Did you choose your genre or did it choose you?

I began reading romance when I was going through one of the worst periods of my life. I didn’t know, at the time, that I was gravitating to romance. I believe in happy endings. I believe that good things can happen. I believe in being positive. What’s better than romance? So, I guess I came first, and romance just followed. To answer your question more directly, I’ll say both!

 What is your favorite comfort food?

 Anything that has minimal carbs and no grains.

Do you have a comfort read?

 I love the first JD Robb In Death book – so heart wrenching and romantic. I have all the Evanovich Plum books in hardback and love the first five, so I read those again sometimes, too.

Were you a bookworm growing up?

 Absolutely! I was reading all the time. I hated my picture taken, but every picture there is of me has me with a book in my hand. I escaped somewhere quiet and read.

Who did you read?

 I read everybody. I read Herman Wouk when I was 11, as well as Erskine Caldwell, and they weren’t books for 11 year olds. I also read Gone With the Wind in the same year. I was 13 when I read the Angelique series. Let’s just say I was reading way over my age group.

Who are some of your favorite authors?

 I have so many, but I’m worried that someone might be offended if I forget one, so I’ll keep mum.

Research? How do you prefer to do it; plane/train/automobile, laptop or library?

 I have oodles of books in my personal research library. When I research something on the web, I have a rule: I have to verify it three times or it has to be on a governmental/library website.

Do you attend conferences?

 I never have. I tend to avoid groups, and I’m shy. I know, I know, you wouldn’t believe that from being on my blog, but I am. I tend to watch, wide-eyed.

 If so where can we “stalk” I mean go to find you and which is your favorite to attend?

 My blog, Facebook, and my website – http://www.karenranney.com. Plus, my Katherine Storm website at http://www.katherinestorm.com.

What do you like to drink, nibble on or listen to while you write?

 Coffee. Coffee. Coffee.

Do you have kids? If so are they toddlers, school age, teens, college bound or “Hey Mom, I’m home again! or are you an empty nester?

 I have a wonderful son who’s grown. Can I really be an empty nester with Flash the Wonderdog?

(Zina- I love Flash’s adventures.)

If you could have one of your books or series to be made into a movie which would it be and who do you see staring in it?

My Beloved with a younger (and nicer) Mel Gibson.

(Zina- oh I could so see that)

Favorite TV shows?

 I gravitate to police shows, for some reason. I love strong women like in The Closer or In Plain Sight. I really like Grimm, too, and Southland.

(Zina- we love Grimm in our house and DVR them)

To finish off, describe your self in 5 words.

 Karen Ranney never gives up.

That is a great way to describe yourself Karen. Thank you so much for visiting me today. If you want to meet Karen just click on one of the many links on the page or the book covers.

Todays prize is a copy of Karen’s last five books, one each for 5 winners today. Yeah ! (picture Kermit the Frog running around, arms in the air-all crazy like.)

Rules:

1. You must leave a meaningful comment, something more than Hi, Hello, or Great Post.   Ask a question, squee like a fan girl or whatever you want as long as it’s appropriate.

2. Every comment counts so chat away. Please include your email in your comment.

3. Winners will be drawn 3 days after each post and a master list will be posted on Feb 17th. You will have until Feb 29th to email me at SeawitchReviews @ yahoo (dot) com. I will also send an email to each winner but if I don’t hear from you by the 29th a new winner will be drawn.

Z Seawitch

