Welcome to the fourth day of my Almost Heaven West Virginia Blog Bash.

         

Welcome to all my followers and visitors, I am having a month long celebration in my husbands honor. My husband Denny is retiring from the Navy after serving for 24 years. We are packing up one last time and moving back to his home state of Wild Wonderful West Virginia. Each post will start off with a picture to showcase West Virginia.  Everyday there will be a prize up for grabs and at the end we’ll be giving away some chocolate.

Please follow the rules posted at the end of each post to enter the daily contests and remember you don’t have to subscribe to win but I hope you decide to stick around. Also any post that contain super erotic material will carry the warning label so as not to shock or offend anyone upon opening.

Love those fall colors don’t you?

Todays guest is Carly Phillips, Carly is a New York Times Best seller author and I am so happy to introduce her to you today. I have met Carly at RomCon and she is such a nice lady to talk to, she enjoys talking to her fans and her intimate chat session was very sought after, I was lucky enough to be her moderater.     Carly is also busy writing but she was kind enought to answer my questions to help you get to know her and her books better. Today is all about her Serendipity Series.

New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips presents a delightful new series about a quaint upstate New York town where love, fate and fortune are interwined….

   Faith Harrington was the classic girl of privilege–until her father was convicted of running a Ponzi scheme and then her marriage crashed and burned.Now Faith is back in her hometown,

hoping for a fresh start. But her father’s betrayal has rocked Serendipity – and not everyone is ready to welcome her with open arms. Then she runs into her teenage crush — the dark, brooding Ethan Barron.

 Long Lost Love and Second Chances

Elisabetta Gardelli thought she’d spend her days serving coffee and    writing obits for the town paper until an unexpected opportunity  results   in her dream job as a journalist.  Now, divorced and  determined to  make  it on her own…

    Nash Barron may be cynical about love, yet even he likes a good  wedding. But the only good thing about his brother’s wedding is Kelly  Moss. Nash can’t help but admire her confidence and beauty, but he’s  forced to keep his distance because getting involved with Kelly could  destroy his relationship with his newly discovered half sister, Tess…

    Cooming Soon May 2012

So let’s get to know abit about Carly shall we….(settling down in some comfy chairs and Carly’s dogs have settled at her feet for a cozy nap.)

New York Times bestselling author Carly Phillips tossed away her legal briefs and a career as an attorney to become a stay at home mom.  Within the year, she turned her love of reading into an obsession with writing.  Over 25 published novels later, Carly writes sexy contemporary romances, striking a balance between entertainment and emotion, and giving her readers the compelling story they have come to expect and enjoy.

Carly is a New York Times bestseller, USA Today Bestseller and Publisher’s Weekly bestseller.  The triple play earned her a spot on Romance Writers of America’s coveted Honor Roll.  In 2002, Carly’s novel, The Bachelor, became Kelly Ripa’s “Reading with Ripa” pick on Live with Regis and Kelly, making it the first romance ever chosen on a nationally televised bookclub.

Carly received her undergraduate degree from Brandeis University and is a graduate of Boston University School of Law (J.D.). To date, Carly has over twenty-five novels to her credit, all available wherever books are sold.

When not writing or playing online, Carly loves to read, to knit, and to spend time with her family.  She lives in Purchase, New York with her husband, two daughters and two soft-coated wheaten terriers who act like their third and fourth children.

So Carly, ready to answer some questions?

Did you choose your genre or did it choose you?

Romance definitely chose me.  I was always an avid reader but from the moment I realized there was a genre that guaranteed me a happy ending, I was hooked.  Soon I wanted to try my hand at writing one … ten completed manuscripts and seven years of submitting and rejections later, I sold my first story!

What is your favorite comfort food?

Chocolate. I’m not overly fussy on the kind, either.  Oreos.  MnM’s. Hershey’s Kisses.  You name it, I love it! As long as it’s sweet and not bitter, I’m golden!

Do you have a comfort read?  Tell us about it.

Ooh good question. I’ve never been a big rereader of books.  I know I was surprised to hear so many readers reread a book. Recently I did give it a try – I reread LaVyrle Spencer’s Separate Beds, the book that got me hooked on Romance to see if I still felt the same way about it all these years later.  Guess what? I did! I guess a keeper is a keeper! And I would call it a comfort read for me.

Were you a bookworm growing up?  Who did you read?

I was a HUGE bookworm. I’d read anything I could get my hands on but usually recommended by my mother who was/is also a huge reader.  Unfortunately, Mom wasn’t a Romance reader so I didn’t KNOW about the genre or let me tell you I might never have left my room! As it is I remember many Sundays spent in bed reading.  Sydney Sheldon, Judith Krantz, Gloria Goldreich, so many books in genres I don’t really read anymore.

What is something that scares the heck out of you?

Any bug that flies.  I’m almost phobic about it.

(Zina-I’m with you, I’m terrified of bees.)

 If you could go on the Ultimate Vacation where would you go and who or what would go with you?

Israel. I’d take my family and go.  Of course anywhere I went – my Kindle comes with me, LOL.

 Who are some of your favorite authors?

I always find this a tough question. For one thing I read so many books … and for another I know so many authors personally … Right now off the top of my head – Jill Shalvis, my critique partner Janelle Denison, Lauren Dane, Jennifer Ashley’s Shifter books, Nalini Singh’s Psy series, Maya Banks … I’m always reading!

Research: how do you prefer to do it; plane/train/automobile, laptop or library?

Laptop! Email! Google! Please don’t make me talk to real, live people! LOL.

 Do you attend conferences?  If so where can we go to find you and which is your favorite to attend?

Yes!

As of now, here is the list:

1. June 1 – 2, 2012

Lori Foster’s Reader/Author Get Together

CincinnatiMarriott North at Union Centre,

West ChesterOhio

I attend RWA National every year, so you can always find me there there.  This year it is inL.A.

2. July 25 – 28, 2012 – Literacy Signing – July 25th.

Romance Writers of America®
32nd Annual Conference
Anaheim Marriott®
Anaheim,California

If I add more, dates will be on my website- www.carlyphillips.com

What do you like to drink, nibble on or listen to while you write?

While I’m writing it’s usually in the morning after breakfast, so that’s water.   If I’m snacking it’s almonds and raisins; a banana; or a protein bar.  The truth is I used to eat Jelly Belly jelly beans while I wrote, or cookies etc. but … I have to be more careful health wise now, so there you have it … but I do sneak in the occasional chocolate treat!

Do you have kids?  If so are they toddlers, school age, teens, college bound or “Hey Mom, I’m home again! or are you an empty nester?

My husband and I have two girls! The oldest is almost 20 and in college; the youngest is almost 16 and a sophomore in high school.  The oldest is home on breaks, away the rest of the time.  The youngest is quite social.  I also have two dogs, a soft coated Wheaten terrier girl named Bailey who is 4 and a Havanese puppy, a boy named Brady (after Tom Brady – New Englad Patriots football) and they keep me plenty busy!

(Zina- I have them all, including my grankids from ages 1 to 26.)

If you could have one of your books or series to be made into a movie which would it be and who do you see starring in it?

Tough question and I’m asked it a lot.  I don’t tend to think about it too much because it’s so out of my control.  I’m going to have to say I don’t know! I do think the SERENDIPITY series would make for good drama!

Favorite TV shows?

Let’s see … well I’m a die hard ABC soap opera fan who is currently losing two of her shows, “All My Children” (already gone) and “One Life To Live” (one week left), which leaves “General Hospital” that I love.  At night … as I try to answer this question I’m struck by how many shows I used to love no longer strike me the same way – “House,” “Grey’s Anatomy,” “Private Practice” … some I watch.  Others I’ve given up on.  We are a huge TV family though. We like “Covert Affairs” (though I still miss Alias every time I watch that show), “In Plain Sight,” I do watch “Grey’s Anatomy,” “Blue Bloods is fantastic” …

To finish off, describe yourself in 5 words.

Hmm. Without making myself sound like a puppy dog – <g> – Loyal, honest, homebody, multi-tasker, crazy dog lover … This is hard!

Thanks for having me here!

N.Y. Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Carly Phillips has written over 30 romance novels with contemporary characters that today’s readers identify with and enjoy.  She’s a writer, a knitter of sorts, a wife, and a mom to two daughters (15 and almost 20!) and two crazy dogs (a 1 year old Havanese named Brady and a 4  year old wheaten terrier named Bailey).  In addition, she’s a Twitter and Internet junkie and is always around to interact with her readers.

Carly lives in Purchase,New Yorkand would love for you to like and follow her on the ‘Net!

Find Carly on the web:

Carly’s Website – www.carlyphillips.com

Carly on Twitter – www.twitter.com/carlyphillips

Carly on Facebook – www.facebook.com/carlyphillipsfanpage

Carly it has been great having you here today and taking time out from your writing to answer some questions, thank you so much.

Todays prize is a copy of Carlys first book in her Serendipity Series for 2 lucky commentors.

Z Seawitch

Rules:

1. You must leave an meaningful comment, something more than Hi, Hello, or Great Post.   Ask a question, squee like a fan girl or whatever you want as long as it’s appropiate.

2. Every comment counts so chat away. Please include your email in your comment.

3. Winners will be drawn 3 days after each post and a master list will be posted on Feb 17th. You will have until Feb 29th to email me at SeawitchReviews @ yahoo (dot) com. I will also send an email to each winner but if I don’t hear from you by the 29th a new winner will be drawn.

Z Seawitch

