Welcome to the sixth day of my Almost Heaven West Virginia Blog Bash.

          Here is the Mountaineer statue in front of the Mountaineer Lair at WVU in Morgantown and a shot of the current Mountaineer.

Welcome to all my followers and visitors, I am having a month-long celebration in my husbands honor. My husband Denny is retiring from the Navy after serving for 24 years. We are packing up one last time and moving back to his home state of Wild Wonderful West Virginia. Each post will start off with a picture to showcase West Virginia.  Everyday their will be a prize up for grabs and at the end we’ll be giving away some chocolate.

Please follow the rules posted at the end of each post to enter the daily contests and remember you don’t have to subscribe to win but I hope you decide to stick around. Also any post that contain super erotic material will carry the warning label so as not to shock or offend anyone upon opening.

Todays guest is Deeanne Gist a very fun and lovely lady of the South with a heart of Gold. I have met her twice now at RomCon and at RWA this year.            

After a short career in elementary education, Deeanne Gist retired to raise her four children. Over the course of the next fifteen years, she ran a home accessory and antique business, became a member of the press, wrote freelance journalism for national publications such as People, Parents, Parenting, Family Fun, Houston Chronicle and Orlando Sentinel, and acted as CFO for her husband’s small engineering firm–all from the comforts of home.

      Squeezed betwixt-and-between all this, she read romance novels by the truckload and even wrote a couple of her own. While those unpublished manuscripts rested on the shelf, she founded a publishing corporation for the purpose of developing, producing and marketing products that would reinforce family values, teach children responsibility and provide character building activities.

After a few short months of running her publishing company, Gist quickly discovered being a “corporate executive” was not where her gifts and talents lie. In answer to Gist’s fervent prayers, God sent a mainstream publisher to her door who licensed her parenting I Did It!® product line and committed to publish the next generation of her system, thus freeing Gist to return to her writing.

Eight months later, she sold A Bride Most Begrudging to Bethany House Publishers. Since that debut, her very original, very fun romances have rocketed up the bestseller lists and captured readers everywhere.  Add to this two consecutive Christy Awards, three RITA nominations, rave reviews, and a growing loyal fan base, and you’ve got one recipe for success.

Her latest releases, Beguiled, Maid To Match , and Love on the Line are now available.

Gist lives in Texas with her husband of twenty-eight years and their border collie. They have four grown children.

Here are a few of Deeanne’s covers.

           

Today Deeanne would like to promote her latest book Love On the Line      

Rural switchboard operator Georgie Gail is proud of her independence in a man’s world … which makes it twice as vexing when the telephone company sends a man to look over her shoulder.

Dashing Luke Palmer is more than he appears though. He’s a Texas Ranger working undercover to infiltrate a notorious gang of train robbers. Repairing telephones and tangling with this tempestuous woman is the last thing he wants to do. But when his stakeout puts Georgie in peril, he realizes more than his job is on the line.

I read Love On the Line and I absolutely loved this book, if you get a chance it’s a great read. Today I am offering one commentor a copy of Love On the Line.

So it’s time to get to know Deeanne a little better. Welcome Deeanne, thanks for stopping by today to visit, so let’s gets started shall we….

 Did you choose your genre or did it choose you?

A little of both.

What is your favorite comfort food?

Chocolate

Do you have a comfort read?

 Pamela Morsi

Tell us about it.

I love her style and her small town historicals (now on eBook) are the BEST

Were you a bookworm growing up?

 I hated to read as a youngster because I had dyslexia

Who did you read?

 Nancy Drew (But not until I was in the 8th grade. Before then it was too hard to read by myself.)

What is something that scares the heck out of you?

 Horror movies and snakes

If you could go on the Ultimate Vaca where would you go and who or what would go with you?

 I’ll go just about anywhere so long as it is with my man. 🙂

 Who are some of your favorite authors?

Harper Lee, LaVyrle Spencer, Pamela Morsi, Meg Moseley, J. Mark Bertrand, Kristan Higgins, Mary Higgins Clark

Research? How do you prefer to do it; plane/train/automobile, laptop or library?

all of the above (except train)

Do you attend conferences?

 RomCon and RWA

If so where can we “stalk” I mean go to find you and which is your favorite to attend?

 I would LOVE for ya’ll to join me at RomCon in Denver. It is so much fun! This year I’m hosting a Titanic Tea in honor of Titanic’s 100th Anniversary and you are ALL invited! Go to GetawayWithDee.com for more info

What do you like to drink, nibble on or listen to while you write?

As far as snacks go, anything with sugar in it. If it is also chocolate, so much the better! But I can’t listen to any music while I write. I have to have absolute silence.

Do you have kids?

 In a span of 4 years, we had 4 kids. They are all grown now and our number of kids has increased to six as we have added a daughter-in-law and, most recently, a son-in-law. 🙂  (picture attached)

If so are they toddlers, school age, teens, college bound or “Hey Mom, I’m home again! or are you an empty nester?

An empty nester. Some days I really miss the kids. But I have to admit, I also love it being just the two of us.

If you could have one of your books or series to be made into a movie which would it be and who do you see staring in it?

 A Bride Most Begrudging. Female lead: Emma Stone  Male lead: Bradley Cooper

 Favorite TV shows?

The Wonder Years

To finish off, describe your self in 5 words. 

 Happy. Forgetful. (That’s all I can think of!)

 I hope everyone enjoyed meeting Deeanne today and don’t forget the rules.

I just love this pink.

Z Seawitch

Rules:

1. You must leave a meaningful comment, something more than Hi, Hello, or Great Post.   Ask a question, squee like a fan girl or whatever you want as long as it’s appropriate.

2. Every comment counts so chat away. Please include your email in your comment.

3. Winners will be drawn 3 days after each post and a master list will be posted on Feb 17th. You will have until Feb 29th to email me at SeawitchReviews @ yahoo (dot) com. I will also send an email to each winner but if I don’t hear from you by the 29th a new winner will be drawn.

Z Seawitch

