Welcome to the tenth day of my Almost Heaven West Virginia Blog Bash.

http://youtu.be/MjPmmCtHmfE

I hope the above link works, it should take you to u-tube where you can watch the Pride of West Virginia, otherwise known as the WVU Marching Band perform their salute to the Armed Forces. I was there in the stadium and saw it in person and tears came to my eyes. In the above picture the are doing their signature move of forming the outline of the state.

Welcome to all my followers and visitors, I am having a month-long celebration in my husbands honor. My husband Denny is retiring from the Navy after serving for 24 years. We are packing up one last time and moving back to his home state of Wild Wonderful West Virginia. Each post will start off with a picture to showcase West Virginia.  Everyday their will be a prize up for grabs and at the end we’ll be giving away some chocolate.

Please follow the rules posted at the end of each post to enter the daily contests and remember you don’t have to subscribe to win but I hope you decide to stick around. Also any post that contain super erotic material will carry the warning label so as not to shock or offend anyone upon opening.

Todays guest author was is a new to me.      I met her at RWA in NYC this past year as I stopped to finally meet Vivian Arend. Vivian introduced me to Zoe and I picked up Zoe’s two books Scoundrel and Rebel. I then had to go forth and find the first and last book in the series before I could read them; yes I’m a little OCD that way. Boy am I glad I listened to Vivian and tried Zoe’s books, I loved them.     Here are the covers in Zoe’s Blades of the Rose series.                  I’m in the middle of Stranger right now, well I am in the middle but I packed the book for the move and I canna remember where I packed it, I’m dying because I left them waiting for me, we were ready to fight the Heirs, the bad guys, and I can’t find my book. I can picture them there waiting for me twiddling their thumbs. Do you get so into a book that it seems that way to you, like you are there??? That should tell you how well Zoe writes….I’m going crazy wanting to get back to Stranger.

Let’s move on my separation anxiety can wait. Today Zoe would like to promote one of her latest releases Devil’s Kiss.

Welcome to the ultimate bad boys.  A group of 18th Century rakes who will stop at nothing in their pursuit of pleasure—even if it costs them their souls.  Dark, sexy and beguiling, the Hellraisers will seduce you.  Sinning never tasted so sweet.

A HANDSOME DEVIL

1762. James Sherbourne, Earl of Whitney, is a gambling man. Not for the money. But for the thrill, the danger—and the company: Whit has become one of the infamous Hellraisers, losing himself in the chase for adventure and pleasure with his four closest friends.

Which is how Whit finds himself in a gypsy encampment, betting against a lovely Romani girl. Zora Grey’s smoky voice and sharp tongue entrance Whit nearly as much as her clever hands—watching them handle cards inspires thoughts of another kind…

Zora can’t explain her attraction to the careless blue-eyed Whit. She also can’t stop him and his Hellraisers from a fiendish curse: the power to grant their own hearts’ desires, to chase their pleasures from the merely debauched to the truly diabolical. And if Zora can’t save Whit, she still has to escape him…

Here is the second book in the Hellraisers series Demon’s Bride, it’ll be out May 2012.  

So now that we have checked out some of Zoe’s books let’s ask her some questions shall we?

So Zoe ….have a seat…yes just right there in that cozy recliner…..yes it reclines and Jeeves will bring in some Chocolate no-bake cookies soon as it seems everyone loves chocolate.

Did you choose your genre or did it choose you?
A little of both, actually.  I got started reading romance in the 9th grade, when my friend would lend me her mom’s romance novels.  I’d been writing since I was a little kid, but pretty soon after I started to read romance, I tried my hand at writing it, too.  Over the course of my undergrad and graduate school years, I’d come back to romance novels, both reading and writing them.  Even when I was working on an MFA in “serious” fiction, I still thought about writing romance.  When I graduated, I started on the day job path, and just gravitated back toward romance. But I don’t think anyone else from my MFA program ever became a romance author!  Just me.

    What is your favorite comfort food?
I have a terrible sweet tooth.  Sweets of any variety make me happy.
     Do you have a comfort read?    Tell us about it.
Right now, my time for reading is so limited that I don’t get the chance to re-read anything.  When I was younger, though, I read and reread Farley Mowat’s Never Cry Wolf, and also Isak Dinesen’s Out of Africa.  Romance itself is my comfort read now.  A Kresley Cole or Loretta Chase book usually puts me in a good mood.
     Were you a bookworm growing up?    Who did you read?
Of course I was!  I remember reading and loving the whole Anne of Green Gables series.  I also had a whole series of Time Life books called The Enchanted World that I read over and over.
       What is something that scares the heck out of you?
I don’t deal well with heights.  I’m fine in an airplane, but when I’m standing near a high-up ledge, I get freaked out.  I’m also very squeamish.  I don’t watch anything with graphic violence.  Or even implied violence.
(Z) I can’t watch movies like Paranormal Activity even the previews freak me out.
     If you could go on the Ultimate Vaca where would you go and who or what would go with you?
First, anywhere I travel, my husband (fellow romance author Nico Rosso) will come with me.  There are so many places I want to travel!  One trip Nico and I want to take is doing a beer and chocolate tour of Belgium.  I’d also love to go to New Zealand.  Oh, and Japan.  And also hike the fjords of Norway.  And…
(Z) My list is like that too.
      Who are some of your favorite authors?
Some of my favorite romance authors include Meredith Duran, Julie Anne Long, Joanna Bourne, Carrie Lofty, Sherry Thomas, Nico Rosso (of course!), Shana Abé and Tessa Dare.  All auto-buys for me.  I haven’t had much time to do non-romance reading, but among my favorites are Lorrie Moore, Deborah Eisenberg, Michael Ondaatje and Graham Greene.
     Research?  How do you prefer to do it; plane/train/automobile, laptop or library?
The ideal thing to do is go to the place and see something or do something yourself, but that’s time/space/cost prohibitive, so I turn to books and the internet for most everything.  But one of the reasons why I write historical romance is because I love to do research.
     Do you attend conferences?  If so where can we “stalk” I mean go to find you and which is your favorite to attend?
Yep!  I love going to conferences to meet readers and also to network/hang out with other authors.  I love RT for meeting readers, and I like RWA for networking, plus seeing some of my writing buddies.  We usually get together for karaoke and other shenanigans.
(Z) Shenanigans huh.
     What do you like to drink, nibble on or listen to while you write?
Coffee is essential.
      Do you have kids?  If so are they toddlers, school age, teens, college bound or “Hey Mom, I’m home again! or are you an empty nester?
I don’t have kids.  Never really felt the urge, and parenthood isn’t something you should go into without being fully committed to it.  I do have two cats, however.  That’s about as much responsibility as I can handle.  Even a dog would be too much.
(Z) I have 9 kids and I’m raising my 3 grandkids for a while, if you ever want to babysit…….
       If you could have one of your books or series to be made into a movie which would it be and who do you see staring in it?
While I love my Hellraisers, I’d definitely like to see the Blades of the Rose made into a series of films.  I see Daniel Craig as Gabriel from Warrior (original inspiration was Sean Bean, but, sadly, he’s a little too old for the role now).  Casting Bennett from Scoundrel would be tough.  Whoever he is, he’d have to be one sexy mo’fo.  I’m taking suggestions, though.  Maybe David Midthunder could play Nathan from Rebel, and if I could get  to play Catullus from Stranger, I’d be a very happy author.  (The understudy for Idris would be Chiwetel Ejiofor.)
(Z) How about Gerard Butler or Hugh Jackman for Scoundrel, I’d fall down to worship them. I love this series and would love to see it as a movie!
            
      Favorite TV shows?
My head is full of stories, so I don’t watch much scripted television.  Right now, Nico and I are addicted to Chopped on the Food Network.
(Z) My dh loves that one too.
       To finish off, describe your self in 5 words.
Stumped at how to answer. (There! That was five words!)
(Z) LOL
Today Zoe is offering a copy of Devil’s Kiss, the first book in her Hellraisers series.
Z Seawitch

Rules:

1. You must leave a meaningful comment, something more than Hi, Hello, or Great Post.   Ask a question, squee like a fan girl or whatever you want as long as it’s appropriate.

2. Every comment counts so chat away. Please include your email in your comment.

3. Winners will be drawn 3 days after each post and a master list will be posted on Feb 17th. You will have until Feb 29th to email me at SeawitchReviews @ yahoo (dot) com. I will also send an email to each winner but if I don’t hear from you by the 29th a new winner will be drawn.

Z Seawitch

