Welcome to the fourteenth day of my Almost Heaven West Virginia Blog Bash.

  Falls Mills WV, this is near the turn off to the family campground…yeah, you know you’re in WV when there are family campgrounds, family churches and family cemeteries. Falls Mills is in Braxton Co where Denny’s mom’s side of the family comes from.

Welcome to all my followers and visitors, I am having a month-long celebration in my husbands honor. My husband Denny is retiring from the Navy after serving for 24 years. We are packing up one last time and moving back to his home state of Wild Wonderful West Virginia. Each post will start off with a picture to showcase West Virginia.  Everyday their will be a prize up for grabs and at the end we’ll be giving away some chocolate.  Denny in Iraq, he is playing a joke on the Army CSM who was being a PITA.

Please follow the rules posted at the end of each post to enter the daily contests and remember you don’t have to subscribe to win but I hope you decide to stick around. Also any post that contain super erotic material will carry the warning label so as not to shock or offend anyone upon opening.

I would love to introduce everyone to the delightful Delilah Marvelle     

        

Victorian Fashion Show RomCon 2011

Here are 28 Interesting facts about Delilah

1.) Delilah is her real name.

2.) She actually met a guy named Samson in her lifetime.  It was back in college.  He even wore his hair shoulder length.  She had to show him her picture ID with her name on it when they first met because he refused to believe her name really was Delilah.  She never tried to date him.   She knew it wouldn’t end well…

3.) She speaks Polish and English fluently.  And while she took four years of French in high school and can still understand quite a bit of French, she hasn’t had much practice.  Please do not send her emails in French unless you include a translation.

4.)  She is married.  Thank God.

5.)  Her favorite authors are all dead.  They include:  Edith Wharton, Jane Austen, Charles Dickens,  William Shakespeare, Henryk Sienkiewicz, the Bronte sisters, Chaucer, Henry Fielding, and Hemingway.

6.) Her favorite living romance author who got her hooked on reading the romance she sought to write: Judith McNaught.

7.) All of the heroes in her books are based on her husband.   Which is why her husband refuses to read any of her books.  He is a model and a firefighter.  No, she will not post pictures.  If you ever wish to see Mr. Marvelle in person, Delilah recommends you come to a book signing.  Taking photos of her husband will cost extra.

8.) The etiquette book she is holding (in the right hand picture) is from the year 1881.  It inspired her to write the scandal series featuring a red little etiquette book by an Unknown Author.  It was used in the scandal series book trailer and is now sitting on her writing desk.

9.) She can type 90 words per minute.  She thanks the Lord every day for signing up for that typing course back in high school.  She did it to avoid taking chemistry.  She still had to take chemistry the following semester.  She was not happy.

10.)  She cannot write without having at least one Starbucks Frappucino.  She intends to sue Starbucks if they ever discontinue making Frappucinos.

11.)  She is not as young as she looks.  This is a good thing.  She hopes it lasts.

12.)  Her favorite food is sushi.    13.)  Her favorite color is red.  Can you tell?

14.)  She loves animals but does not own any.    15.)  She has always secretly wanted to be a race car driver.

16.)  She has a culinary degree.  She even won a national cooking contest for the most original cookie, winning $10,000.  Despite this, the only real chef in the house is Chef Boyardee because Delilah’s writing is keeping her out of the kitchen.  Her family does forgive her every Thanksgiving when she goes all out and makes everything from scratch.  Even the gravy.

17.)  Delilah was born and raised in Chicago.

18.)  She now lives in Portland, Oregon.  The rain ensures she is always writing.  She usually takes the summers off because that is the only time the sun ever comes out.

19.)  Her favorite movie is Amelie.

20.)  She once walked in the jungles of Belize in her flip flops at night to go to the bathroom.  When these black things were skittering beneath her feet, she stupidly asked the locals what they were.  Tarantulas.  She never wore flip flops in the jungle again.

21.)  Her grandmother calls sex “poom-poom.”   Seriously.

22.)  Delilah is not descedent of royalty.  She wants to be.  BUT…her great-great-GREAT grandfather was knighted by a King.  Sadly, he was poisoned shortly afterward.  This is, in fact, true.  Unless her relatives are big fat liars.  Which would explain where she gets her incredible story-telling skills.

23.)  She loves kickboxing and running.  24.)  Her favorite sinful snack is salted dark chocolate.

25.)  Delilah cannot write when there are other people around.  She cannot even have anyone in the house and must have complete silence.  Why?  Because she talks aloud in a British accent as she is writing.  It helps her characters come alive but she knows if anyone heard her doing it, they would think she is a freak.

26.)  She was involved in theater for four years.

27.)  She played the pianoforte for 10 years and competed regionally for about 5, taking first place several times.  She also took five years of ballet.

28.)  Delilah is impressed that you made it this far.  You are either really freakin nosy or a real fan.  She hopes it’s the latter.

Today  Delilah is promoting her newest release Forever and a Day  Here is a link to go read an excerpt.

http://software.libredigital.com/bookrdr/dp-live/BookBrowse.html?a=os2tZ3UbTO8sSivCvCy09VtHY21CCvYxKQqpICT4y2s9vZcLHQVkBU30ae6LAWyROEK0h%2B5nw4WRYa%2B03npsMRDEAnQHYfDDh49E7PhJru2069SEF%2BZR4GL2lkVFSr5m&z=hlq

Here is a little forward from Delilah:

Dear Reader, I love New York City.  The people are damn serious about the way they live life.  They work hard and play hard and needless to say, it got me thinking. Were the people of New York City just as hard core back in 1830 as they are now?  You better believe they were.  And those poor bastards didn’t have our modern conveniences, either. Back in 1830, people were trying to pave dirt streets with gold, even though they had nothing but sweat.  So what happens when an American-Irish woman named Georgia with only coal clutched in each hand meets a British aristocrat who only ever had gold?  You get a story known as the Prince and the Pauperette.  But why stop there?  After all, there is so much more to a story than poor vs. rich.  I wanted to get down and dirty and twisted, digging into the real facets of life back in 1830, while giving you a good laugh and a good cry.  As a writer, I get to play god (bwahahaha) and the idea of a person starting over against their will has always fascinated me. So I took away the hero’s memory and made him crawl back to the basics in life.  Basics he forgot to appreciate.  Basics he never thought he’d be able to return to.  And he does it all while touching the life of one very special woman who makes him realize true love is not only real but priceless.  I hope you enjoy my historical version of the Prince and the Pauper.         Much love, Delilah Marvelle

There is a prequel titled Forever Mine

Todays winner will receive from Delilah a signed copy of Forever and A Day and from the Seawitch you will receive the prequel Forever Mine.

So lets tie Delilah to the train tracks like in the old-time movie….imagine me with the Dastardly Dan mustache….that should be hard to imagine but funny!!!! Ok Delilah the Amtrak will arrive soon if you want to escape just answer a few questions….duh  duh duh duuuhhhhhh. Wait you say you will answer them, I don’t have to tie you up???? well then let me untie you because the train is comin round the bend and picking up speed.

Woo let’s go sit in those comfy chairs, what?  Oh , yes thank you (Zina reaches up and removes the mustache.)

Shall we start. Just incase you didn’t learn enough about Delilah in her 28 interesting facts above.

Z: Did you choose your genre or did it choose you?

D: I’ve always been drawn to everything and anything historical since I was as young as six.  And it was historical London, in particular, that I was most drawn to, though for the life of me, I can’t remember why.  Maybe my past life was coming through?  I don’t know, but I do remember when my father went to London on a business trip, I was upset I couldn’t go and when he asked me what he could bring back for me, all I wanted was a historical map of London.  I still have it and it hangs in my writing room.  Most of what I read and whatever movies I watch, have always centered around history.  It’s all that ever interested me.  At one time I even wanted to be an archeologist.  My fascination led me into researching whatever I could at the library, which as I started writing, led me into the historical world of writing.  I’m a sucker for romance and I’m a sucker for history and between the two, I found my place.  I showcase all of the history I’ve ever come across on my A BIT O’MUSLIN blog (www.DelilahMarvelle.blogspot.com) which explores sex throughout history in a twisted sort of way.  I love entertaining myself with research and love to share that research.

 Z:  What is your favorite comfort food?
   D: Salted Dark Chocolate.
Z: I’ve never heard of Salted Dark Chocolate…my dh just told me he has…and he’s had it.
Z: Do you have a comfort read? Tell us about it.
   D: I would say my comfort read is anything by Jane Austen.  She just had such an incredible way with words that makes me nestle into a sweeping world I feel like I belong in.  I once read Sense and Sensibility, finished it and then started re-reading it again.  When you read and re-read certain books you notice things you didn’t notice the first time and that is why I consider her my comfort read.  Because I can re-read any of her works and discover new things.
Z: Were you a bookworm growing up?
 D: I most certainly was.  There wasn’t a book that was safe from me, lol.  I devoured so many books, in fact, the librarians knew me by my first name and were always setting aside books they knew I’d like.
Z: Who did you read?
   D: All the dead people, lol.  The Bronte sisters, Jane Austen, Henryk Sienkiewicz, Edith Wharton, Charles Dickens, just to name a few.  I first read Edith Wharton in high School and fell in love with her characters and her stories, although the never usually ended well, so I started penning my own versions of how I wanted her stories to end.
Z: What is something that scares the heck out of you?
D:Anything bug related.  Especially spiders.  I swear I’ll never forget going to Belize with my husband and us staying in the jungles.  Our “bedroom” was in a tree house, which was the coolest thing ever.  Going to the bathroom, however, was not so cool.  I had to climb down the ladder and wade through the darkness toward the bathroom knowing I was in the middle of the a jungle.  I did this one night (in my flip flops) and noticed these black blotches darting across the ground.  They were tarantulas.  They live underground and movement and vibrations make them skittish.  Needless to say, I never wore flip flops again and I don’t do well with spiders anymore.
Z: I think the consensus is bugs and snake here.
Z: If you could go on the Ultimate Vaca where would you go and who or what would go with you?
D: My ultimate vacation would be Paris and Rome.  I’ve been wanting to go for YEARS.  Again, it all comes down to history.  And Paris and Rome are brimming with it.  Who would I want to go with me?  My husband and children, without any doubt.  We all share a passion for travel and I cannot imagine traveling to my dream destination without them.
Z: Research? How do you prefer to do it; plane/train/automobile, laptop or library?
D:  LOL, all of the above.  Whatever I can afford, whatever time I have, I do it.  I’m a freak when it comes to research and feel comfortable spending whatever I can to get my hands on the historical aspects that apply to my writing.  An example?  My latest series, which involved a lot of research pertaining to New York City in 1830, took me into New York City four times last year and I’m going again this year to wrap up the last book in the series.  All three of my books, FOREVER AND A DAY, FOREVER A LADY, and FOREVER A LORD, all had different aspects of research I needed to dig into.  FOREVER AND A DAY involved the Five Points, so I visited what’s left of it and dug up as much as I could through the New York City library.  I wanted to step beyond what everyone knew about the Five Points and bring something new to it.  FOREVER A LADY involved a lot of New York City newspapers.  And now I’m working on FOREVER A LORD, which involves researching bare knuckle boxing in New York City.  All of them take me to the New York City library, but the coolest thing is being able to visit the actual places I’m researching.
Z: Do you attend conferences?
  D: I attend as many conferences as I can.  I absolutely love it.  I always attend the Romantic Times Reader’s Convention, RomCon, and RWA.
It’s a way of connecting with people I only get to see once a year while connecting with readers.
 Z: If so where can we “stalk” I mean go to find you and which is your favorite to attend?
D: LOL, anyone can stalk me, as long as it doesn’t involve guns or knives.  I love meeting readers and always look forward to talking to people face to face, as opposed to the internet we’re all sentenced to.  My favorite one to attend?  That’s hard to say, because they’re all my favorite for different reasons.  RT and RomCon connects me with parties and readers, while RWA connects me with my fellow authors.  I love them all equally.
Z: No weapons here, just the love kind of stalking here, hoping for a picture and book signings.
Z: What do you like to drink, nibble on or listen to while you write?
D: For me, I am forever cursed by the wicked Starbucks Frappuccino.  I guzzle it like water and use it to keep the brain sharp.  I joke about it all the time, but if Starbucks were to discontinue my Fraps, I’d sue them, lol.  Because I can’t write without them.
Z: Do you have kids?  If so are they toddlers, school age, teens, college bound or “Hey Mom, I’m home again! or are you an empty nester?
   D: I have two marvelous kids, both teens who I’m enjoying very much.  They’re ambitious, smart and dedicated to being good kids.  I’m dang proud.
Z: You should be, it’s hard raising kids now a days.
Z: If you could have one of your books or series to be made into a movie which would it be and who do you see staring in it?
    D: Not to sound like I’m pimping my latest book, but I’d say FOREVER AND A DAY.
And I totally see Richard Armitage and ripping up the screen.
I would totally die.
   
ok I just had to put two of Richard.
   and here is Christine.
Z: Favorite TV shows?
D: Downton Abbey.  No doubt about it.  The first Season sucked me in and I’m glued to Season 2.
Z: I have never heard of this show, but then I mostly watch the Disney channel.
Z: To finish off, describe your self in 5 words.
   D:  A smart ass needing attention.
Z: LOL

I hope you all enjoyed meeting Delilah as much as we did at RomCon. If you want to go to Delilah’s sites here are the links.

http://www.delilahmarvelle.com/  and   http://www.delilahmarvelle.com/site#!__site/a-bit-o’muslin-blog

Z Seawitch

Rules:

1. You must leave a meaningful comment, something more than Hi, Hello, or Great Post.   Ask a question, squee like a fan girl or whatever you want as long as it’s appropriate.

2. Every comment counts so chat away. Please include your email in your comment.

3. Winners will be drawn 3 days after each post and a master list will be posted on Feb 17th. You will have until Feb 29th to email me at SeawitchReviews @ yahoo (dot) com. I will also send an email to each winner but if I don’t hear from you by the 29th a new winner will be drawn.

Z Seawitch

