Good afternoon everyone. Thank goodness for my gel Stephanie, I guess there is a reason she is my #1. I have just gotten home from the walk-in clinic here in town because the only doctors office had no openings, yeah and they were both out of throat swabs for strep. I had 6 sick kids this weekend. Anyway another one now has strep, and the other two may have bronchitis and strep and one just has a viral. I’m beginning to wonder if we’ll have mor than a week when everyone is healthy. Denny fills sick too he says, I say he’s on his own other than I will fix him some soup. The three-year old who is the sickest just fell asleep so I’m popping on real quick. We have to drive over to the next town later to get their medicine.

Some of the boxes are ready to go but I’m still waiting for some books to come they should be here this week other than the box of books I can’t find and Denny just told me he thinks he left in RI because we ran out of room the last trip. Stephanie is going to open the box and if it’s the boxes she’ll get them in the mail to me asap. Here I thought he had taken them over to the storage unit, yeah couldn’t find the books so I called Stephanie. If I had known they were still there I would have had Stephanie send them a few weeks ago. So I am sorry about the wait, for the books that I myself are sending out, but I can’t hurry the mail coming to me.

Now my gel Stephanie loves to cook and this is one of her favorite recipes and I love her to make it. I do believe Stephanie said this recipe came from an Australian cookbook.

 

Lemon and Lime Curd (pg 47 of Great Tastes: Desserts  Bay Books, 2010)

Makes 6

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 egg yolks
  • ¾ cup caster (superfine) sugar [Domino makes it. It is not confectioner/powder sugar]
  • 3 ½ fl oz lemon juice
  • 2 ½ tbsp lime juice
  • Finely grated zest of 2 limes
  • 10 ½ fl oz thick (double/heavy) cream
  • Boiling water, for steaming

Candied Lemons

  • ½ c. caster sugar
  • 1 lemon, finely sliced

 

  1. Preheat oven to 315°F/Gas 2-3. Line a roasting tin with a dish towel. Place six 6 fl oz ramekins in the tin.
  2. Combine the eggs, yolks, and sugar in a large bowl and whisk until the sugar has dissolved and the mixture is well combined. Stir in the lemon and lime juice and the lime zest. Add the cream and mix well to combine.
  3. Pour the mixture into the ramekins, and then pour enough boiling water into the roasting tin to come halfway up the side of the ramekins. Bake for 30 minutes, or until just set (the curds should be slightly wobbly when you shake them).
  4. Remove the ramekins from the roasting tin and allow to cool, then refrigerate until cold.
  5. To make the candied lemons, put the sugar and ½ cup water in a saucepan over medium-high heat and stir until the sugar has dissolved. Add the lemon slices and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium and simmer without stirring for 5-10 minutes, or until the syrup has reduced a little. Remove from the heat and allow cooling. Chill in the refrigerator until ready to serve.
  6. Place a candied lemon slice on top of each curd. Drizzle with a little syrup. Serve with baby meringues or cream.

Notes:

When I’ve make this recipe I don’t line the pan with a dish towel. And I haven’t used lime zest in the recipe. And I haven’t attempted the candied lemons. I‘ve had rave reviews from everyone that has devoured  this recipe. It isn’t curdled. It’s like a mousse or pudding. Very awesome.  Not sure if the cream is whipped cream or what they call pouring cream, and I’m also not sure if the baby meringues are cookies. I only went to the 5th instruction but everyone loves them.

 

Perhaps Jess or Mary P can tell us????

 

Z Seawitch & Stephanie

