Happy Hump Day Everyone! I am feeling even better today.

Today is a new feature here at SeawitchReviews, the author spotlight and my first guest is Erin Quinn.  This picture was taken at the Glendale Chocolate Affair. This was taken just before readers came for a get together book signing and doesn’t Erin glow with happiness??? Erin will be stoppin in around 9am pacific time so be sure to say hello.

Welcome Erin, I’m glad you could make it today to SeawitchReviews, first off let’s talk heroes, I loved what you had to say in your March Newsletter.

Erin:  I fall in love with my heroes.  I can’t help myself!  When I write a man, I write him to meet my needs.  I like my men manly, but not overbearing.  I like them to be dominate . . . but not dominating.  I want them to be sensitive, without being feminine.  And they must have beautiful eyes.

Rory MacGrath, the hero of HAUNTING WARRIOR, didn’t need my help.  He was his own man from the first word to the last and what a man.  I fell in love with everything about Rory, from his good looks (have you seen the cover of Haunting Warrior???) to his warmth, his masculinity, his ability to put others over himself.

He never had an easy life.  When he was a boy, his father vanished from the cavern beneath the castle ruins near their home.  His dad was sucked into another world, taking Rory along with him.  Somehow Rory’s sister managed to pull Rory back, but from that moment on he never felt whole.  In fact, he felt like a part of himself was left behind.  And deep down, Rory feared it was the most important part . . . the good part.

Disconnected from his past, his family, and even his heritage, Rory might have convinced himself that he didn’t mind being alone and that he didn’t long to be loved, but he couldn’t fool me.  I felt his pain. I knew his heart. And from that moment, I was head over heels in love with Rory MacGrath.

Tough on the outside and lost on the inside, I knew that all Rory needed was a woman who could help him see his own strengths—a woman who would challenge him to rise above the past that has crippled him emotionally and force him to step back into the circle of the living. She couldn’t be just any woman and she certainly wasn’t easy to find. In fact, Rory had to travel through time to reach her.

Thrust back in time to ancient Ireland, Rory opens his eyes to find himself in the body of another man—a man who is about to marry the very woman Rory has been dreaming about. Suddenly, Rory is fighting for his life—and the life of his new bride. Their enemies are everywhere and the odds of surviving dwindle with each passing moment. But now that Rory has met the woman of his dreams, now that he has touched, tasted, and made love to that woman, he realizes that he doesn’t want to be alone anymore. He will fight to protect her. He will fight to free them both from a fate the future feels determined to deliver.

He will be the warrior she needs him to be and he will fight for love . . . or he will die trying.

I hope you join Rory on his road to redemption . . . and I hope you will fall in love with him just like I did.

HAUNTING WARRIOR is available now at all bookstores and online booksellers in mass market paperback and electronic formats.     Amazon     Barnes & Noble     Books-a-Million   Indie Bound

Seawitch Q:    Erin, today we are talking about your inspiration for your books. So we would like to know where you get your inspiration and if you use visuals like pictures when you write?  If so where do you go looking for inspiration?

Erin:  I’m what they call a “pantser” in the industry.  That means I don’t have detailed outlines of who, what and where when I begin.   All of those pieces come to me in a very organic way as I write my stories.  Inspiration is usually in the form of a hot skinny vanilla latte delivered by husband as he’s off to golf and a quiet house where I can focus.

I use images for locations, mostly so I can be sure that I don’t get mixed up along the way and move details.  But most of what I do, I do in my head.  It’s a scary place in there, but for some reason, I was gifted with a very vivid imagination.  If I’m writing it, it’s because I see it in my mind.

Seawitch Q:    Erin do you model your heroes and heroines after people you meet?

 Erin:  Not at all.  You might see an occasional secondary character who has some tendencies of someone I’ve met, but for the most part, the characters I write come to me in the form of what they say.  Dialogue is critical to how a character is shaped for me.  Sometimes I don’t even know who they are until they butt in and say something clever (or cruel or smart or cold….).   That’s when they start jumping off the page for me and I feel like I can do them justice in my descriptions.

Seawitch Q:    Erin do you have pictures you will share today.

Erin:  Here are some that go along with Haunting Warrior—but as I mentioned, I usually don’t have them on my board until I’ve started the writing.  Sometimes I never find them (as with Haunting Beauty—I never found the perfect Danni—Sean, I matched with Clive Owen).  Once I get a few chapters in, I start forming a visual then I look for images that support it.  With Rory, the hero of Haunting Warrior, I couldn’t find one picture that did it all until the cover of the book arrived.  Berkley did an amazing job capturing his essence in that cover.  Of course, they left his face a mystery.  Finding a man that big and beautiful was a challenge and I didn’t come across an image that did him justice until the movie Thor came out (long after the book was finished).         When I saw Chris Hemsworth in that role, I thought, hmmmm….he could play Rory in the movie (I also thought he should never wear a shirt again, lol).        I do love the way the trailer turned out for Haunting Warrior.  You can watch it and all the Mists of Ireland trailers at http://www.erinquinnbooks.com/Trailers.htm

The same is true for Saraid, his heroine—I couldn’t find a picture that jumped out at me and said “Saraid”.  For me, Saraid was a cross between Halle Berry and Penelope Cruz, but she was much younger.  Still, I used those two incredible beautiful women to model Sariad.

  

Seawitch Q:    Erin can you tell us more about your Mists of Ireland series?
Erin:  The Mists of Ireland are part of a time-travel series that takes readers to Ireland to meet the families MacGrath and Ballagh.  For centuries these two families have been entwined in love, jealousy and the mysticism of an ancient tome called the Book of Fennore.  Surrounded by lore and superstition, this ancient Book wreaks havoc on humanity—but when it falls into the hands of the MacGraths and Ballaghs, it ignites powers within them that make them its most formidable enemy.  Each of the four books within the series focuses on one of the MacGraths or Ballaghs and follows their journey through time as they try to defeat the powers of the Book and deal with the new reality it sets out before them.  Reviewers and readers alike have called the Mists of Ireland series “filled with fascinating characters, wonderful detail, and the beautiful scenery of Ireland” and “An enthralling read. Quinn’s mélange of paranormal, time travel and romance is outstanding!”
Seawitch Q:    Erin can you tell us more about your current  Mists of Ireland release?
Erin:  Haunting Warrior, the second book in the Mists of Ireland, just re-released last week in mass market paperback.  Warrior is probably one of my favorite books and also the Bookseller Best Award winner for paranormal romance.  Rory MacGrath (the hero of Haunting Warrior) has never felt good enough.  In fact, since the night when his father disappeared from the cavern beneath the castle ruins on the Isle of Fennore, Rory has struggled with inner demons.  That night when he was a boy, not only did his father vanish, but Rory did too–just for a few minutes.  His twin sister, Danni, brought him back, but he’s always felt that a part of him was left behind and he’s worried that it was the best part of him.  He’s only half wrong.
Rory’s journey through time takes him to the woman who was meant for him and back to that time and place where he lost a piece of himself all of those years ago.  Now Rory is trapped in a web of time, bound to the woman of his dreams. She captures his heart, but he must fight to save their future.

Seawitch Q:    Erin can you tell us more about your current e-book release Irish Mist?

Erin: For Kasey MacGrath, success means everything and too much is never enough. But when a distant relative is killed, Kasey travels to a land he’s long forgotten, and discovers in the mists of the Irish countryside the entrancing woman named Delaney Ballagh, who mysteriously haunts his mind and his heart. In the village of Talamh an Oir, simplicity is the order of the day, but something mythical and unfathomable terrorizes both the community and the beautiful woman he wants to protect.
For Kasey to help free them from evil, he must open himself to possibilities he’s never considered. But can he truly believe in the magical gift Delaney possesses and a way of life he’s shunned–both of which promise to be the key to his personal salvation? Will he trust what he feels for the woman who stepped out of his dreams and into his arms, or will he lose everything in a single mistake?

  Ok ladies I had to make this one large because Erin talks about how she loves eyes and this cover has a beautiful set of blue eyes, don’t you agree???

Erin:  Zina, thank you so much for having me here.  Your blog is so much fun!

Erin Quinn is an award-winning author who writes romance for the thinking reader. Her books have been called “riveting,” “brilliantly plotted” and “beautifully written” and have won, placed or showed in the Booksellers Best, WILLA Award for Historical fiction, the Orange Rose, Readers Crown, Golden Quill, Best Books, and Award of Excellence. Go to www.erinquinnbooks.com for more information or follow Erin on Facebook or Twitter.

She lives in Arizona with her husband, two daughters and three dogs (all of whom have made debuts in her stories—the dogs, that is, not the husband and kids.)

Sign up for Erin Quinn’s newsletter or enter Erin’s monthly contest to be automatically added and eligible for free books.

Thank you Erin for being my first guest and Erin will be coming back around 9am pacific time to answer any questions or comments anyone wants to leave for her.  All commenters will be entered to win a surprise, that is also a new facet of the author spotlight.

Z Seawitch

