Top of the Morning everyone.

First let me tell you my body is not as young as it once was. We volunteered to mow the baseball field where our #2 son Zack will be playing ball. This was the first cut of the year, we spent all day Sat. and 1/2 of Sunday. We cut and RAKED enough grass on Sat. for about 15-20 bales of grass hay. We had to go back Sunday to cut it a second time, we didn’t rake this time, our arms couldn’t do it and to mow the outside of the field and the concession stand. The coach whose mower is broke said thanks but my arms and neck which can hardly move said, hopefully everyone will take a turn in the future so we don’t get stuck with the job all season.

On to the diet. I have stalled which happens because I didn’t take any food with me to the ball field and went to the concession stand and got hotdogs. I am at 175 after 10 days so that means I’m down 10 lbs. I’m also out of drops as Denny’s bottles weren’t as full as he thought they were so I’ll be starting into the maintenance phase early but that’s ok I still lost 10 lbs and I’ll restart the diet in May. I find I lose the most in the first 10 – 15 days.

So I did promise a really good Native American recipe from Stephanie, she had to research and find a recipe and then make it for her Native American studies class. Her teacher and her class loved it.

Frybread (16 servings) Native American Cooking by Lois Ellen Frank

You dip up the Wojapi with the fry bread.

Ingredients:

  • 4 c.      all-purpose flour                           •         1 tsp. salt                  •         vegetable oil for frying
  • 2      tbsp. baking powder                                    •          2 c. water

1. Mix flour, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl

2. Gradually stir in water until dough becomes soft and pliable without sticking to the bowl

3. Knead the dough on a lightly floured surface for 5 minutes, folding outer edges of the dough towards the center

4. Return the dough to the bowl, cover with towel and let sit for 30 minutes to rise

5. Shape into egg size balls and roll out

6. Pat between hands and poke a hole in the center

7. Pour ~1 ½ inches of oil into frying pan over medium heat

8. Cook til both sides are golden brown

Buffalo Berry Wojapi (Syrup)   (2 ½ – 3 cups)

Ingredients:

  • 2 c.      buffalo berries                        •     ½ c. honey
  • ½ c.      water                                     •    ½ c. maple syrup or sugar

1. Place all ingredients in a medium-size pot, pressing and crushing the berries into the bottom

2. Simmer over moderate heat, stirring occasionally until berries are tender and liquid is reduced   and thick

3. Remove and pour into sterilized jars for future use or a small bow for immediate use

Note: In wojapi recipe I used sugar not maple syrup, and I used a can of mixed berries for pie from the baking isle instead of the buffalo berries.

Can spice up with allspice, cinnamon, and/or brown sugar

Rose hips, raspberry, blackberry, elderberry, currant, gooseberry, chokeberry, strawberry,  saskatoon berry, salmon berry, and bearberry substitutions all provide easy variations on this basic, traditional recipe.

This would be good to try with all kinds of berries but we are partial  to black berries and the mixed berries.

Enjoy!

Z Seawitch & Steph.

