Good day, I hope everyone had a great Easter Weekend. We had a very busy one with Church, hiding the easter baskets, 2 egg hunts and a big family gathering where I took the corn casserole as my contribution.

I am working on some reviews for some awesome books I have read but I am once again plagued by headaches and migraines. Thurs. my #4 Elizabeth turns the big 18 and is going to go take her first driving test to get her permit . Yes, I know I make my kids wait so they appreciate the privilege(and responsibility) it is to drive. My #5, my oldest son DJ turns 16 next Tues, oy! We’ll be doing something with Liz for her b-day here. She has picked tacos and a red velvet cake for her birthday dinner and DJ wants pizza and vanilla cake.

I know I just posted two recipes last week, but with the headache I canna sit to long at the computer and my headache medicine hasn’t had enough time to kick in so I’m posting one of Stephanie’s recipes. Enjoy!

This recipe is from our Cheap, Fast and Good Recipe Book

Cheap, Fast, and Good Recipe

By Beverly Mills and Alicia Ross

Workman Publishing 2005

 

Grandmother Rose’s Mulligan      pg 6      serves 6     ~30 minutes

 

  • 8 oz elbow macaroni/other small pasta
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 large bottle (64 oz) tomato-veg juice, ex V8
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • Black pepper to taste

 

1.)  In a large pot bring lightly salted water to boil. Add pasta and cook, uncovered, until firm/tender. Drain and set aside.

2.)  In pot heat the oil, add chopped onion and meat. Brown and drain fat.

3.)  Add juice, chili powder, sugar, and pepper. Stir well, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to med-low and cook at a slow boil

to blend flavors for  5  -7  minutes.

4.)  To serve put macaroni in a bowl and ladle soup over it.

 

Z Seawitch & Stephanie (Girl Friday)

