How could a mother of 9 forget Mother’s Day you ask???? Because I lost my brains years ago. I also forget my anniversary, every year. Oh I remember it’s coming up but then I forget about it. Thank goodness my oldest gel Stephanie(Girl Friday) texted me this last year.  When I saw it and read Happy Anniversary; I was like anniversary?????…it’s not my anniversary. Then I looked at the calendar and said “OH S***!” I them texted Denny Happy Anniversary and saved my tushy.

Anyway I have been seeing ads lately about sending flowers for mother’s day so I was like when is mother’s day this year?? My kids didn’t even know!!! I looked at the calendar my mum sent me and she didn’t put Mother’s Day on it so I still had no clue. I was thinking it was around the 20th but  I now know it’s this sunday thanks to an ad saying send flowers. Now I’ll remember to call my mother….hopefully. Wait I’ll write it on the calendar, there now as long as I look at the calendar I won’t forget….hopefully.   

So for those of you that see your mum in person…good for you and give her a hug for me…then have her hug you back from me. I won’t see mine on that day, haven’t been with her on Mother’s Day for over 20 years now. I thought though about gifts and I am at  the point where I don’t want anything that will gather dust unless it’s a book. But I do enjoy having something homemade to eat or a gift card to go out to eat. So here are a couple of recipes with mum in mind incase you want to bake her a homemade treat.

And Happy Mother’s day to you all, even if you do not have kids, because even if you have no rugrats of your own, you more than likely have influenced a child somewhere at sometime and that makes you a mother in my eyes.    

Recipes are from AllRecipes.com just click on the pic to go there….hopefully. Also I like to go to the site and read the comments you find at the bottom where people have put tips or changes they have made like adding more cream to the French Toast recipe below.

  This one made me think of my grannie and the Mississippi Mud she made when I was a kid, I loved it and her.  She taught me a lot about being an adult and thinking before I spoke and considering others feelings and family.

Mississippi Mud Cheesecake

Prep Time: 40 Min

            Cook Time: 4 Hrs 20 Min
            Ready In: 10 Hrs
Original Recipe yield 1 – 9 inch cheesecake

            Ingredients

  •                     Crust:
  •                     1 1/2 cups finely crushed animal cracker cookies
  •                     3/4 cup white sugar
  •                     1 tablespoon instant coffee granules
  •                     1/4 cup melted butter
  •                     Cheesecake:
  •                     1 1/2 cups white sugar
  •                     1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  •                     2 teaspoons instant coffee granules
  •                     3 tablespoons cornstarch
  •                     3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
  •                     4 eggs
  •                     1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  •                     1/2 cup chopped pecans
  •                     Topping:
  •                     1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  •                     2 tablespoons milk
  •                     1/2 cup marshmallow creme
  •                     1/4 cup chopped pecans

            Directions

  1.                     Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9-inch springform pan with cooking spray.
  2.                     Mix together the animal cracker crumbs, 3/4 cup sugar, and 1 tablespoon instant coffee granules in a bowl. Pour in the melted butter and mix until evenly moistened. Press into the prepared springform pan and set aside.
  3.                     To make the filling, combine 1 1/2 cups sugar, the cocoa powder, 2 teaspoons instant coffee, and the cornstarch in the bowl of an electric mixer; stir until blended. Add the softened cream cheese and beat until the sugar mixture has been incorporated and no lumps of cream cheese remain. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, adding the vanilla extract with the last egg. Fold in 1/2 cup of chopped pecans, then pour into the prepared crust.
  4.                     Bake in the preheated oven for 15 minutes; reduce heat to 200 degrees F (95 degrees C) and continue baking 2 hours. Turn off the oven, and let the cheesecake stand in the oven for 2 hours more before opening the door. Remove and cool to room temperature.
  5.                     Once the cheesecake has cooled, melt the chocolate chips and milk in a small saucepan over low heat. Remove the cheesecake from the springform pan, and spread the marshmallow cream evenly over the top. Spread or drizzle the chocolate over the marshmallow cream and sprinkle 1/4 cup of chopped pecans overtop. Chill completely before serving.

  This one just looks so good!…note no calorie info on mother’s day…..enjoy it!

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Prep Time: 15 Min

            Cook Time: 1 Hr 15 Min
            Ready In: 10 Hrs

12 slices day-old bread, cut into 1 inch cubes

  •                     2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, cut into 1 inch cubes
  •                     1 cup fresh blueberries
  •                     12 eggs, beaten
  •                     2 cups milk
  •                     1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  •                     1/3 cup maple syrup
  •                     1 cup white sugar
  •                     2 tablespoons cornstarch
  •                     1 cup water
  •                     1 cup fresh blueberries
  •                     1 tablespoon butter

            Directions

  1.                     Lightly grease a 9×13 inch baking dish. Arrange half the bread cubes in the dish, and top with cream cheese cubes. Sprinkle 1 cup blueberries over the cream cheese, and top with remaining bread cubes.
  2.                     In a large bowl, mix the eggs, milk, vanilla extract, and syrup. Pour over the bread cubes. Cover, and refrigerate overnight.
  3.                     Remove the bread cube mixture from the refrigerator about 30 minutes before baking. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  4.                     Cover, and bake 30 minutes. Uncover, and continue baking 25 to 30 minutes, until center is firm and surface is lightly browned.
  5.                     In a medium saucepan, mix the sugar, cornstarch, and water. Bring to a boil. Stirring constantly, cook 3 to 4 minutes. Mix in the remaining 1 cup blueberries. Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes, until the blueberries burst. Stir in the butter, and pour over the baked French toast

  I love lemon, I love poppy-seed and I love scones so this is a hit anytime.

Vegan Lemon Poppy Scones

Prep Time: 10 Min

            Cook Time: 15 Min
            Ready In: 25 Min

Ingredients

  •                     2 cups all-purpose flour
  •                     3/4 cup white sugar
  •                     4 teaspoons baking powder
  •                     1/2 teaspoon salt
  •                     3/4 cup margarine
  • 1 lemon, zested and juiced
  •                     2 tablespoons poppy seeds
  •                     1/2 cup soy milk
  •                     1/2 cup water

            Directions

  1.                     Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease a baking sheet.
  2.                     Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt into a large bowl. Cut in margarine until the mixture is the consistency of large grains of sand. I like to use my hands to rub the margarine into the flour. Stir in poppy seeds, lemon zest and lemon juice. Combine the soy milk and water, and gradually stir into the dry ingredients until the batter is moistened, but still thick like biscuit dough. You may not need all of the liquid.
  3.                     Spoon 1/4 cup sized plops of batter onto the greased baking sheet so they are about 3 inches apart.
  4.                     Bake for 10 to 15 minutes the preheated oven, until golden.

  I love Spinach…yes you can blame Popeye the Sailor Man for that one.  But I hate eggs but if it has a lots of other things mixed in like spinach I can eat it as long as I don’t think about the eggs that is.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Prep Time: 20 Min

            Cook Time: 30 Min
            Ready In: 50 Min
 Ingredients
  •                     1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  •                     1 onion, chopped
  •                     1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
  •                     5 eggs, beaten
  •                     3 cups shredded Muenster cheese
  •                     1/4 teaspoon salt
  •                     1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper

            Directions

  1.                     Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a 9 inch pie pan.
  2.                     Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onions and cook, stirring occasionally, until onions are soft. Stir in spinach and continue cooking until excess moisture has evaporated.
  3.                     In a large bowl, combine eggs, cheese, salt and pepper. Add spinach mixture and stir to blend. Scoop into prepared pie pan.
  4.                     Bake in preheated oven until eggs have set, about 30 minutes. Let cool for 10 minutes before serving.

Happy Mother’s Day everyone! I think I will spend the day doing nothing…well I do have the two wee ones who have a game but everyone can fend for themselves this day and take care of the wee ones while I read….oh and call my mum!      Well that’s my mum in the pink, someday maybe all our family can get a big family picture with all the kids from my brothers and sister.

Z Seawitch

