Is it really Monday? I feel like this – this morn.

    And I would love to go back to bed. Since my daughter came in this weekend to see her kids Denny and I went to stay in the Holiday Inn Express. It was such a nice weekend and relaxing( no computer for me) except when we were home and Denny started yelling at the kids. Yesterday we watched the kids play ball then went back to the hotel and we took a four-hour nap. Then we got up and went to get some dinner, then I couldn’t sleep. Denny had no problem going back to sleep because he had to be up at 2:30am to get ready to head back to work. So I sat up and finished a review then went back to bed and finally fell asleep about an hour before he had to get up. I stayed up again to work on a review then back to bed, I tried to sleep in but I got up at 7:30 and got ready for breakfast and checked out. Now I’m home and my body feels like I was run over by a truck.

So as I was computer free this weekend I am posting a recipe today, then I was to start to work on laundry and cleaning my messy house! Then tonight the girls have a double-header.

Oh and heads up I have been invited to participate in my first blog tour by our very own KittyKelly, I’m letting you all know it is an erotic tour but I’ll put in the post title that it’s erotic so that those of you that don’t care for stories of the erotic genre can just delete that post. The blogging starts July 27th.

Cheap, Fast, and Good Recipe

By Beverly Mills and Alicia Ross

                                                   Workman Publishing 2005

Creamy Wild Rice Soup      pg 33    serves 4        ~20 minutes

 

  • 8 oz fresh button mushrooms
  • 2 tsp veg oil
  • 1 lg onion
  • 2 tbsp dry sherry (optional)
  • 1 can (14 oz) fat free chicken broth
  • 1 can (10.75 oz) regular or reduced fat condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 box (6.2 oz) fast cooking long grain and wild rice blend (Uncle Ben’s Long Grain and wild Rice Fast Cook)
  • Black pepper to taste

1.)  Rinse, pat dry, and slice the mushrooms, removing and discarding any tough stems. Set them aside.

2.)  Heat the oil in a pot over med heat. Peel and coarsely chop the onion, adding it as you go. Raise the heat to med-high. Cook for 1 minute, stirring occasionally. Add the mushrooms and the sherry if using. Cook, stirring occasionally, until mushrooms release their liquid (~3 minutes).

3.)  Add the broth, cream of mushroom soup, and 2 cups water. Add the rice and 1 tablespoon of seasoning from rice’s seasoning packet. Stir well, cover the pot, raise the heat to high. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and stir well. Cover and cook at a simmer until the rice is tender (~5 minutes). Season with pepper and serve.

Well everyone I hope you have a great week!!!!

Z Seawitch

