I do believe in Faeries… I do believe in Faeries… I do…I do.

Warrior’s Redemption by Melissa Mayhue is Book One in her new Warriors series. It is in my opinion loosely connected to her Daughters of the Glen series, which I love by the way.

Melissa’s story stars a heroine who believes with her whole body and spirit in Faeries. Danielle or Dani for short ; Dani has believed in Faeries all her life and she just knows they have a purpose for her. So at midnight on Halloween or Samhain, as it was called in medieval time, Dani will be prepared. She has saved her money and has used it to buy special rocks and crystals to hopefully open a portal to communicate with the Faeries. Dani is not the only one asking for boons from the Fae. It is this combination of supplications that lands our heroine back in 1294 Scotland. I have to say I like how the Faeries’ Queen answers –  “You had but to ask daughter. So you wish it, so it will be.”

I have to say here that if I was transported back to medieval Scotland I would ask the Faerie queen for a boon-to bring a few modern convenances with me:

1) never-ending femine supplies

2) my venus razor (refills too)

3) my modern toilet complete with toilet paper ( also never-ending)

4) my microwave (It would magically work without electricity of course)

Oh and my toothbrush and toothpaste.( never-ending supply/ enough to share too)

That is the only thing that bothered me about our heroine, I kept waiting for her to complain about something she missed and she didn’t, not once!!!!! I’d be crying my eyes out, oh I’d want to be there but I’d be missing my above list. I really liked Dani though and would love to have her for a friend.

Now let’s move on to our Scottish hero Malcolm MacDowylt, laird of the clan MacGahan, who is no stranger to magic himself. Malcolm thinks he’s cursed by the Gods of Old. As a young lad Malcolm was chosen by the Norse God Oden himself and marked with his symbol over his heart. Malcolm is a wonderful hero, ready to sacrifice himself for those he loves and promises to protect. I won’t tell you any more about Malcolm as he is going to be all yours to discover.

There are some wonderful secondary characters and villains. Melissa has done such a fine job setting up potential heroes and heroines while weaving her tale of enchantment and magic. I can’t wait to see if some of my favorites get their own stories. We have Patrick, Malcolm’s brother, who is the strong silent type, a warrior through and through. Elesyria is a Faerie bent on dispensing justice, good or bad.

We have one heck of a villain in Malcolm’s half-brother, Torquil, who is definitely a snake with his own magical powers, also bestowed by Odin. Then we have a wolf in sheep’s clothing and a good guy hiding in plain sight too. I canna tell you anymore without giving out spoilers. I hope you get a chance to pick up Warrior’s Redemption so you too can be swept away by magic, murder, betrayal, Faeries and enduring love. In fact you will be seeing this book up for grabs soon in a contest, hint hint!

 Will the magic of modern romance help him defeat an evil ancient  power?

MALCOLM MACDOWYLT sees himself a failed warrior, haunted by the death of   the woman he married to become laird of Clan MacGahan.  Neither his Viking   heritage nor his claim to descend from Norse gods can restore his confidence in  his ability to protect his people.  His sister is held captive, her life in  jeopardy, and his Magically powerful half-brother wants him dead.  The last thing he needs is more responsibility, but that’s exactly what he gets when his  Faerie mother-in-law arrives seeking justice for her daughter in the form of an enticing woman from seven hundred years in the future. DANIELLE DEARMON has waited fifteen years to discover the life she is supposed to live.  She just never dreamed she’d end up in the thirteenth century  with a handsome Scot bent on saving everyone but himself.With the lives of those most dear to him hanging in the balance, Malcolm   sets out to battle a powerful evil Magic, only to learn that the redemption he  seeks exists only in the arms of the woman he loves.Here is a look at the next book in Melissa’s Warrior series Warrior Reborn. 
  Only his love can free her.

Former special ops agent CHASE NOBLE has been searching his whole life for the place where he belongs. As a descendant of Fae, he senses fate has more in store for him. And he will not rest until he discovers what his true purpose is. When he travels back in time to medieval Scotland, he discovers his mission is to save a beautiful woman — the same woman he is destined to be with.
 CHRISTIANA MacDOWYLT  possesses the gift of foresight. Prisoner of her evil half-brother, Christiana has visions that show her that only one warrior can rescue her — a man she is mysteriously drawn to. The only problem is, he’s in the future. Now she must rely on the magic of a Faerie to transport him to the past. And when Christiana finally meets Chase, the sparks between them set off a smoldering desire. But will the magic that brought them together also tear them apart?
I give Warrior’s Redemption 4.75 tail swishes. Want to go check Melissa and her books out? Well you can go here http://www.melissamayhue.com/index.html
Z Seawitch
