Charmed by His Love will charm you and leave you believing in the magic.

Well I am trilled to tell you that Janet Chapman has done it again. I had only read about 20 pages and I knew I was in love with this book and especially the hero Duncan MacKeage.  Charmed by His Love is Janet’s second book in her Spellbound Falls series.

I have loved Janet’s Highlander books, where we have met Duncan, those stories spun off into her Moonlight Bay series (loved) which  have spun off to her Spellbound Falls series ( also love). The MacKeages we meet in the original series along with the MacBains and we have also gotten to see peeks of them at times in the spin-off series and I am so happy to see more of my MacKeages again. Oh yes, I’m possessive of them, they are some of my favorites!

Todays hero is Duncan MacKeage, a descendant of Callum MacKeage one of the original 12th century Highlanders who time traveled to modern Maine by the magic of a meddling druid. The family seat is Tar Stone Mountain in Maine and is the source of the families magical powers. Duncan has been a secondary character in a few of Janet’s stories so it’s like I’m meeting up with an old friend I havena seen for a while but still have that connection to. He is big, strong and a man of honor trying to find his place in the world. By the end of the book, no, by the end of page 20 I was totally in love with him. Duncan knows all about the magic and while he believes in it, he hasn’t any powers of his own that he knows of. So he is almost sure that the magic has chosen to pass on by him. But then Mac tells him the magic is there, just waiting for him to claim it and the magic is getting damn inpatient too, if he doesn’t hurry it may destroy him.

Peggy Thompsen is our heroine and I like her. She is a widowed mother of 4 and I feel her pain, I think that’s why I like her so much. I was a divorced mother with 3 girls that I sometimes had to take with me  to work at the hotel where I was a housekeeper. On those days I stayed in the laundry and put the youngest who was about 10 months in one of the big laundry bins to keep her contained. Raising kids and having no clue where you’ll get money to feed, clothe and house them is stressful. I love Peg’s  mommy scowl and her “missions” for her kids,  her and I have a lot in common. Doesn’t it make the heroine more real when you can identify with them so well.

I get a chuckle when Duncan is always telling Peg he can be a “bastard like that” and he says it often as you’ll find. He is also saying quite often”What did I do to deserve this.” I just can’t help but giggle at times. If you get a chance to read Charmed by His Love and someone will soon, you’ll see just what I mean; it adds humor to the story.

Speaking of humor, I chuckled quite a bit and cried a bit too when Peggy talked about her families curse and her husband Bill’s death. My heart pounded a few times and not just when Duncan spoke.

The secondary characters and villians are well done – even the whale and the mountain….(peeks your interest – doesn’t it.)….now aren’t you curious??? You should be as Charmed by His Love gets a five tail swishes from me. It is one of the best books I’ve read this year and will be line for something I’m thinking of putting together at the end of the year and next week.

Five Tail Swishes for Charmed by His Love.

Here is a look at the Spellbound Falls series

Book 1  Spellbound Falls   2/28/12

Maximilian Oceanus arrives in Spellbound Falls just in time to save Olivia Baldwin from an overly aggressive suitor, only to find himself attracted to the beautiful, if rather aloof, widow. And although Mac has come to Inglenook to get a handle on fatherhood, his newly discovered six-year-old son has set his sights on finding his father a wife.

Olivia, however, is busy getting Inglenook ready for its new season, so she doesn’t have time to deal with her growing attraction to the dangerously seductive Mac. Besides, weird stuff seems to happen all around him. Take the fact that her seatbelt keeps getting stuck in his presence, or locks magically open for him without keys, and that he seems to have a talent for sensing things. Never mind the three lost albatrosses walking down the road in the middle of the night. Since when are there albatrosses in Maine?

But despite Olivia’s resistance to falling under the sexy man’s spell, Olivia is having trouble fighting her longing. Because she knows Mac is just the man to unlock the powerful passion deep within her….

    Book 3   Courting Carolina  8/28/12  This one is going to a birthday gift to myself!!!!

     Book 4  The Heart Of A Hero  2/26/13

You will meet Nicholas (a man with no last name!) in Courting Carolina, and this book, The Heart of A Hero, is his story!

Sorry everyone but Janet doesn’t have excerpts up on all her books. But if you would like to go check out her site you can go here.

http://www.janetchapman.com/

