I love Sue-Ellen Welfonder’s alter ego Allie Mackay. Today I’m so happy to tell you about Haunted Warrior, I loved this book as I have loved all my Allie Mackay books.

Graeme MacGrath, I just love that name, don’t you? I had to email Allie/SE to ask how to pronounce it correctly. Here’s what she told me:

Haunted Warrior is a very special book to me and I loved Graeme and his dog, dear old Jock, so much.  I know one Graeme in Scotland.  He’s the teenage son of a friend and the family pronounces the name “Gray-m.”  Almost like you’d say “Graham.”  But slightly different.  “Gray-m” (said together) is the closest I can come to the sound.

Thank you Allie/SE I just love how that rolls off my tongue, better now that I know how to pronounce it. Here’s my review for Haunted Warrior which is one of the books up for grabs in my birthday contest.

Review:

Graeme is a Highland Warrior and a Guardian. Slightly Immortal as he lives 700 years and a day before the Guardianship is passed on to the next heir. He is guarding the Shadow Wand from Gavin Ramsey, the heir of the evil druid who last possessed it, and who is doing everything he can to wrest it from Graeme so he can use it again for evil. The Shadow Wand can steal a man’s soul, sucking him dry and leaving behind an empty husk soon to die. Graeme has something this Scotophile (both myself and the heroine) loves, a buttery soft Scottish voice, lovely – lovely muscles and a love for animals. Just wait until you meet Graeme’s wee friend Jock, he’ll steal your heart as he did mine. Graeme is a wonderfully natural guardian, but he should be after 626 years of practice. I would love to trade places with our heroine Kendra. Maybe someday I will see my name used in an Allie Mackay book with my verra own Highlander…I can dream canna I.

I like the fact that Allie’s heroines all share where they are from – Buck’s County, PA. I like knowing what they do there – their jobs, friends and their adversaries. It makes them more real to me. Kendra is a Spirit negotiator, she helps spirits to move on into their new lives so to speak. Kendra is enjoying a few days off before beginning her next assignment in Pennard when she meets Graeme on the beach, she later meets Jock and falls under the dog’s spell, yes she also loves animals.

Kendra needs to help settle some spirits down quickly and as quietly as possible in Pennard so a historical society can continue its work. She has met Graeme previously on the beach and runs into him again and his dog Jock when she arrives in Pennard and he drives her rental car down a very steep and scary road into the seaside village. I love how Allie’s books always show both the character’s and Allie’s love for animals. It resonates with me and adds that little extra something to the story.

We have our bad guy, who is bad and dabbles in the black arts. I have to say that Allie’s/ Kendra’s description of Gavin when she meets him in the pub is spot on. The Paranormal aspects Allie writes makes the story believable as well as Kendra’s interaction with the ghosts. The little seaside village of Pennard sounds like a great place to visit, it has castle ruins, seals and a library with tea and scone ( well, it will have the library soon).

There is mystery, danger, dark druid magic, seals, a meddling but lovable dog, ghosts, a Highlander, a woman, wee Hughie, a lot of magic and the power of true love in this story just waiting for you!

I would give Haunted Warrior 5 out of 5 tail swishes!

Kendra Chase is exhausted from her work as a ghost whisperer, so she’s been looking forward to her vacation in Edinburgh. But work awaits her as the tiny fishing village is being excavated, and supernatural uprisings have been reported.

Graeme MacGrath knows the source of the psychic trouble. The excavation is disrupting the protective veil between this world and darker, more ancient ones. He hates to admit it but he will need the fetching Kendra and her paranormal abilities to save the town he loves from unspeakable evil.

Except:

Mini-Excerpt HAUNTED WARRIOR

(This is on a North Sea beach and is Kendra and Graeme’s first meeting.  She’d glimpsed him moments before when he was standing alone on the sand dunes.)

     He was the man from the dunes.

And he was coming right up to her, his strides long and easy, his dark gaze locked on hers.

“This is no’ place for a woman to walk alone.”  His voice held all the deep, richness of Scotland.  “The seas here are aye heavy, the surf rough-”

“Who are you?”  Kendra didn’t miss that his dark, good looks were even more stunning up close. “Didn’t I just see you on the dunes?”

“You’re an American.”  A corner of his mouth lifted as he avoided her question.  His sexy Scottish burr deepened, as if he knew the rich, buttery tones would make her pulse leap.  “A tourist come to visit bonnie Scotland?”

“Yes.” Kendra’s chin came up.  Hunky or not, he didn’t need to know her business here.

She was interested in his.  Only Superman could change clothes so quickly.

“Weren’t you in a kilt a while ago?”  She kept her chin raised.

“A kilt?” His smile spread, a dimple flashing in his cheek.  He held out his arms, glanced down at his jeans.  “I do have one, aye.  But as you see, I’m no’ wearing it now.”

“You did have one on.  A kilt, I mean.”

“You’re mistaken, lass.”  He lowered his arms, fixing her with the same intent gaze as he’d done from the dunes.

“I saw you.”

“You could’ve seen anyone.  That’s why I’ll tell you again, this is no’place for a bonnie lassie-”

“I’m not a lassie.”

“Nae?” He gave her a look that made her entire body heat.

“I’m an American.”  The excuse sounded ridiculous.  “We don’t have lassies.”

“Then beautiful women.”  He touched her face, tucking a strand of hair behind her ear.

Kendra’s pulse beat harder.  “There are lots of gorgeous women in the States.  Smart women who-”

     “Those other women aren’t here and dinnae matter.”  He stepped back, studying her appreciatively.  “I meant you.”

Oh I don’t know about you ladies but I would be in a puddle at his feet after that.

Allie sent me a few pictures as well, this first one is Allie/SE in a village she based Pennard on.  

These next two are the beach where she was inspired to set the opening scenes and the last one even has a bunker in it just like in the book.

Thank you so much for stopping by today Allie/SE, sending me the pictures, the excerpt and the Birthday card and wishes you sent my way.

Allie/SE and I have been friends and corresponding for a few years now, it’s safe to say I love her work and am a big fan, hopefully next time I’m in Florida I’ll get to stop by.

So Allie/SE can you give us any scoops on what’s in the future for you?
Allie/SE :  “Sure, but first please let me say that I’d love to take you out to lunch or dinner next time you’re down here.  That would be wonderful and so much fun.
Also, I absolutely agree that your name would be a lovely heroine name.  H’mmm… the writerly wheels are spinning now.”  Re future works… I don’t like to talk about works-in-progress until right before they hit the shelves.  I’m superstitious about that.  You can say that I am presently working on new series under both names.  I don’t know the series titles or even the individual book titles yet.  Nor do I have covers yet.  I’ll let you know when I do have those things (and the official blurbs) if you’d like to mention the books/series then.

One neat thing… the new Scottish medieval series (4 titles) will have an e-novella released before the first book of the 4-book series.  The e-novella will introduce the new series.  I’ll keep you updated as I learn titles and release dates, get covers, etc.

Thanks so much re the Q&As.  They’re fun ones.  🙂

I canna wait to see what’s coming next!  I have seen the name Zina Dianaith(sp on the middle name) in history books, it’s very rare.
So let’s ask  Allie/Sue-Ellen our just for fun Questions:

________________________________________________

SW: Which makes you go weak in the knees Southern Drawl or Scottish Burr?
SE:  Laughing as I type this.  Definitely the burr.
SW: I think this one was a given, lol.
_________________________________________________
SW: Guard Dog, Lap Dog or Independent Cat?
SE:  Lap dog.  I am owned by a 14 year old Jack Russell who rules my world.  (love cats, too, though)
 SW:  Hello Em! Right now we just have two cats and a leopard gecko.
_________________________________________________
SW: Fur(wolfies) or Fangs(Vamps)?
SE:  Neither.  I enjoy paranormal light.  Time travel, ghost romance, Highland magic.
 SW: I like all kinds of paranormal.
___________________________________________________
SW: Your idea of camping 5 Star Hotel or Canvas Tent?
SE:  Tent.  I’m a nature girl and love wild places.  The more rugged and remote, the happier I am.
 SW: I prefer a hotel now as I get older.
___________________________________________________
SW: Cowboy or City boy?   Why?
SE:  Neither.  I love Highlanders.  The ‘why’ is because they are rugged, earthy, and proud men who love the land and have voices that can melt a woman at a hundred paces. 
 SW: Oh aye, I’d walk for an hour to hear that buttery voice.
__________________________________________________
SW: Offspring or Home aloner?
SE:  Home aloner.
________________________________________________
SW: Umbrella Cocktail or Longneck?
SE:  Neither.  I don’t drink.  (except a rare dram or a pint of Scottish ale when in Scotland)
 SW: I don’t drink at all, always the designated driver!
_______________________________________________
SW: Cake or Ice Cream?
SE:  Can I say both?  Together?  If I must choose, I’ll pick ice cream.  Favorite is butter pecan.
 SW: Yes you can have both!
_______________________________________________
SW: Camel Ride or Elephant Ride?
SE:  I have ridden a camel around the pyramids, so I’d love an elephant ride next time.
 SW: I’ve seen camel races in Virginia city, they are crazy!
______________________________________________
SW: Breakfast at Tiffany’s or IHOP?
SE:  IHOP.  I don’t care for glitz and glam.
 SW: I just want the panacakes(that’s how we pronounce it in our house)
______________________________________________
SW: Quiet Night In or Wild Night Out?
SE:  Quiet night.  Toss in a chill wind, rain against my window, and a fire in the hearth, a good book to read, and my dog in my lap, and I’m in heaven.
SW: Count me in but with a cat or two here. I love stormy nights, just no more tornadoes please.
_________________________________________________
Everyone I hope you enjoyed visiting and chatting with Allie/SE today and if you would like to go visit here are the links for her website, the Allie Mackay site is being revamped at the moment so the website link is to Sue-Ellens site. http://welfonder.com/    http://www.alliemackay.com/
As is usual I am giving away a copy of Haunted Warrior        to one of todays visitors, so enjoy chatting with Sue-Ellen today. I’ll be either back in Rhode Island or on my way but I’ll pop in as much as I can. The winner will be announced Friday along with all my birthday winners.
Note:
Don’t forget to be sure to enter my birthday contest from Monday http://wp.me/p1HH6W-K8  and there is still time to pop over to Miss Ivy’s post at ManicReaders to enter the contest there http://manicreaders.com/blog/index.php/2012/08/maya-banks-softly-at-sunrise-and-first-five-5-in-the-kgi-series-giveaway/
