Hi everyone,

It’s S, momma’s Girl Friday. She’s almost home but she wanted me to post a recipe for y’all. I actually need to start a list to remember which ones momma’s posted so far. Lol. But before I do that I wanted to say that I’m getting a puppy that is supposedly a shar pei/mastiff/boxer mix. I don’t think the mastiff is actually part of it by seeing the mom. She’s no higher than my knee but wrinkly like a shar pei. And they weren’t sure if the boxer was the father or if the male shar pei/mastiff mix was. I chose the only white puppy. I wanted them all but Dad said no. 🙂

Image

I decided on Nanuq for her name. It is Inuit for polar bear because that’s kinda what she looks like in this picture, a baby polar bear. I can’t wait to pick her up and bring her home, but she won’t be ready til the end of September. But on to the recipe.

I figured since I was talking about my puppy and how her name is an Arctic animal that for today I will post a recipe for hot chocolate. I love hot chocolate and I drink it all year long. So I hope you’ll wanna give it a try since Fall is coming and it’s getting a little chillier in the mornings. Lol. And let me know what you think of it if you do try it.

Hot Chocolate. By Michael Turback. Ten Speed Press, Berkeley. ©2005

Het Choklad Vit                 pg 28                     1 serving

  • 1 c. whole milk
  • 4 oz. Valrhona Ivoire White Chocolate, chopped
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 orange slice

1)      In a medium saucepan, heat the milk over medium-low heat until very hot but not boiling.

2)      Gradually add the white chocolate to the hot milk, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon until the chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth.

3)      Stir in the vanilla. Remove from heat and froth with a steamer or immersion blender.

4)      Pour into a mug and arrange the orange slice as a garnish.

5)      Serve immediately.

From Chokladkoppen in Stockholm, Sweden.

Note:

4 ounces of chocolate is equal to a cup. This will make a VERY thick chocolate. I added ½ cup of milk to another recipe of hot chocolate with the same ingredient ratios. And that still wasn’t enough. So you may want to thin to taste.

The chocolate needed is a special brand found at chocosphere.com but I was gonna try this by substituting a high quality white chocolate with the same percentages. Those percentages are 44% sugar, 40.5% fat (cocoa butter), and 21.5% milk.

picture taken from http://arrynvoganpottery.com/2010/04/  which tried this very recipe

I hope everyone is safe and had a good Labor Day weekend.

S/Girl Friday

