Ha, found my notebook today while looking for some other paperwork. Isn’t that how it always goes???? On another bright side it looks like Denny may be employed again if he passes a physical, training and gets his CDL’s. Also I forgot to say that I won a signed copy of an awesome book Echoes At Dawn by Maya Banks and a $50.00 B & N GC from Maya Banks and her publishers from the contest run over at Manic Readers through our own Miss Ivy.

Ok so back to business now.

Are you all tired of hearing me say I loved a book??? I hope not, granted I do love most books but I really loved this one.

  Robyn Carr did an outstanding job with Sunrise Point and all the emotional turmoil of her characters. I cried, I laughed and was anxious at the end that I may not get my HEA by the end of the story like I wanted and signed at the end with immense relief when I did. I was ready to chew my nails off, Robyn did an excellent job to the last page.

I know you all have heard me say it  before … I love the Virgin River Series. In fact the area where it is set is where our Gel Friday has spent the last week with my parents taking pictures. Sunrise Point is the 19th book in this series and it is chock full of reader satisfaction.

Our hero Tom Cavanaugh is home from the Marines after a tour in Afghanistan. He returns home to his families Apple Orchard to help his grandmother Maxie (who helped raise him) run things. He’s also ready to start thinking about settling down with a sweet, decent, a little bit naive, marring kind  of woman. Certainly not someone like our heroine Nora Crane, a young unwed mother of two, she’s a little bit shocking!!!

Nora Crane is a graduate Cum Su Laude of the University of Hard Knocks. Nora thanks the day she and her two young children were abandoned in Virgin River. This community has taken her in and helped her out; saving her, her two-year old and her two-week old from freezing or starving. She’s doing the best she can with odd part-time jobs when she sees a notice is posted for apple pickers….and she intends to apply no matter the odds against her getting the job.

Robyn did a wonderful job with Nora – she fulfils her role as a woman who doesn’t want to fall for the guy so well, her depth of character is amazing. I love her, I could empathize with her so much being a young mother with children all on her own and trying to provide for them. I was there but thank goodness I had my parents and found Denny along the way. Tom is handsome, grumpy at times, nice and caring at others. He also has thanks to Nora’s thoughts a sweet body and some hidden tattoos um I love tattoos and I like how Robyn unveiled then near the end of the story. It was like she unveiled another layer to Tom.

We meet our family of bears from the previous story and boy are they getting into trouble again big time. We also wun into some old friends/characters we know and love and some new ones. I must say I like Tom’s Gram Maxie and I think you’ll like her too. I almost gave up on Tom being smart when Darla came along. I wanted to get my gramma’s old wooden rolling pin out!!!

Robyn’s Sunrise Point gets a Five Tail Swishes from me.

Official Blurb:

TOM CAVANAUGH MAY THINK HE WANTS A TRADITIONAL WOMAN, BUT IN VIRGIN RIVER, THE GREATEST TRADITION IS FALLING IN LOVE UNEXPECTEDLY…

Former marine Tom Cavanaugh’s come home to Virgin River, ready to take over his family’s apple orchard and settle down. He knows just what the perfect woman will be like: sweet, decent, maybe a little naive. The marryingkind.

Nothing like Nora Crane. So why can’t he keep his eyes off the striking single mother?

Nora may not have a formal education, but she graduated with honors from the school of hard knocks. She’s been through tough times and she’ll do whatever it takes to support her family, including helping with harvest time at the Cavanaugh’s orchard. She’s always kept a single-minded focus on staying afloat…but suddenly her thoughts keep drifting back to rugged, opinionated Tom Cavanaugh.

Both Nora and Tom have their own ideas of what family means. But they’re about to prove each other completely wrong…

Short Excerpt:

There was a small note on the bulletin board at the Virgin River Presbyterian Church. Apple harvest to begin at Cavanaugh Orchard. Apply in person.

Virgin River newcomer, Nora Crane, studied the board regularly and when she saw the notice asked Reverend Kincaid what he knew about the job. “Very little,” he answered. “It’s a fairly long harvesting season and the Cavanaugh’s like to add a few full-time workers to their staff. Not many, though. I hear they pay pretty well, it’s very demanding work and it’s all over in a few months.”

The words that stuck were pays pretty well. She was holding her two-year-old daughter’s hand and carried nine-month-old Fay in her backpack.

“Can you give me directions to the orchard?” she asked.

He wrinkled his brow. “Nora, it’s a few miles away. You don’t have a car.”

“I’ll have to go there, find out what the pay and hours are. If it’s a good job with good pay, I bet I can afford Day Care at the new school. That would be so good for Berry,” she said of her two year old. “She’s almost never with other children and needs socialization. She’s so shy. And I’m not afraid of walking. I’m not afraid to hitch a ride around here, either — people are generous. And a few miles — that’s really nothing. I’ll get some exercise.”

Noah Kincaid’s frown just deepened. “Walking home could be tough after a long day of physical labor. Picking apples is hard work.”

“So is being broke,” she said with a smile. “I bet Adie would love a little babysitting money to add to her budget. She barely squeaks by. And she’s so wonderful with the girls.” Adie Clemens was Nora’s neighbor and friend. Although Adie was elderly, she managed the girls very well because two-year-old Berry was so well-behaved and Fay didn’t get around much yet. Fay had just started crawling. Adie loved taking care of them, even though she couldn’t take them on full-time.

“What about your job at the clinic?” Noah asked.

“I think Mel gave me that job more out of kindness than necessity, but of course I’ll talk to her. Noah, there isn’t that much work available. I have to try anything that comes along. Are you going to tell me how to get there?”

“I’m going to drive you,” he said. “We’re going to log the miles and get an accurate distance reading. I’m not sure this is a good idea.”

“How long has that notice been up?” Nora asked.

“Tom Cavanaugh put it up this morning.”

“Oh good! That means not too many people have seen it!”

“Nora, think of the little girls,” he said. “You don’t want to be too tired to take care of them.”

“Oh, thanks, Noah. It’s nice of you to be concerned. I’m going to go ask Adie if she can watch them for a little while so I can go to the orchard to apply. She always says yes, she loves them so much. I’ll be back in ten minutes. If you’re sure you don’t mind giving me a lift… I don’t want to take advantage.”

He just shook his head and chuckled. “Bound and determined, aren’t you? You remind me of someone…”

And just for fun here’s a peak at the previous 18 books and she has a new one coming out soon, My Kind of Christmas coming in Nov 2012.

The Riordan brothers may have a reputation for being rough-and-tumble, but Patrick has always been the gentle, sweet-natured one. These days, his easygoing manner is being tested by his high-octane career as a navy pilot. But for the Riordan brothers, when the going gets tough…the tough find the love of a good woman.

Except the woman who has caught Patrick’s attention is Jack Sheridan’s very attractive niece.

Angie LeCroix comes to Virgin River to spend Christmas relaxing, away from her well-intentioned but hovering mother. Yet instead of freedom, she gets Jack Sheridan. If her uncle had his way, she’d never go out again. And certainly not with rugged, handsome Patrick Riordan. But Angie has her own idea of the kind of Christmas she wants—and the kind of man!

Patrick and Angie thought they wanted to be left alone this Christmas—until they meet each other. Then they want to be left alone together. But the Sheridan and Riordan families have different plans for Patrick and Angie—and for Christmas, Virgin River-style!

If you click on the book cover you can go to Robyn’s site to read the excerpt. Click on any cover below to go to that book page.

                                                                            

Z Seawitch

