Welcome everyone to Elise Marion’s Redemption Blog Tour. I am very happy to have Elise visit today, Hello Elise and welcome to SeawitchReviews, thank you for stopping by today and telling us all about your newest book Redemption. What a lovely smile you have, such a wonderful author picture.   Some of you may remember Elise from a contest I won. Elise will be using mine and  Denny’s  love story as an inspiration for a future story.

Here is a little background on Elise’s thoughts about writing.

Going to the Dark Side

Sometimes we authors find a formula … something we do well that readers love and come to expect from us. I think my signatures are angst and drama filled stories, and hurting, broken characters who find wholeness in each other. In this particular series, it was all about struggle, all about the fine line between right and wrong. It’s all about forbidden love and knowing you shouldn’t do something, but wanting it so bad that you might just give up your soul for it.

That became the central focus, and while those emotions are certainly intense, they have never been grittier than they are in the final story, Redemption. I struggled internally with myself over the direction this book took. After all, I am not a plotter. I start a story with an idea of how it will begin and end and usually a good idea of how it will climax. The rest is a journey that I follow with an open mind. I like things to happen organically. As I wrote Redemption, I worried that it was getting too dark, that in my exploration of the other side of the supernatural spectrum (namely demons and hell) I was going too far away from the way I began the series.

Yet I had to find the resolve somewhere to follow my heart and in the end, the story actually comes full circle and ends in a way that makes it true to the series. I still worry that some who are fans of the series will be turned off by the darkness, but I had to be true to me and what I envisioned for the story. I just hope that most of my readers, old and new, will enjoy my journey over into the dark side. Who knows? We might find ourselves enjoying it there.

So Elise can you tell a little about Redemption.

Title: Redemption (Angels Among Us Book 3)

Genre: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy Romance

Publisher: Self

Length: 40,000 words (Novella)

Description:  In a world full of the sick and dying, the hurting and desperate, and those lost in darkness, angels dwell.

Once a Warrior Angel, Nathaniel has now become one of the Fallen, after losing sight of his purpose. Fallen angels are cursed to wander the depths for all of eternity, a fate that Nathan has avoided every day for the past seven years. As the demon within him grows, he knows that it is only a matter of time until he becomes a monster.  His love of a human woman is what caused him to lose his wings, yet Nathan cannot bring himself to regret it, or the child that came of their love. It is that child’s identity as a Naphil—half angel, half human—that threatens the existence of everyone he loves and Nathan finds himself having to face his past in order to secure his son’s future.

Carmen Rodriguez lives her life in constant fear. The power of her son grows every day, leaving him vulnerable to the plans of the Evil One. When a demon’s bold abduction puts Carmen in a desperate position, she turns to the only one who can bring him back. Nathan warns her that the road to rescuing their son will be a treacherous one … one that leads them straight into lair of the Prince of Darkness.

The third and final installment of the Angels Among Us series goes where it never has before.

Even in the very pits of hell, can an angel find salvation? Will the love that Nathan has for Carmen and his son be enough, or will Nathan finally have to face the consequences of his actions.

Is there redemption for the Fallen?

Book Release Date: November 15

YouTube Video Trailer: http://youtu.be/lPsSAaUC1SE

Excerpt 1:

“I can’t believe you’ve never been salsa dancing! You’re a natural. Are you sure one of your parents isn’t Puerto Rican?”

Nathan laughed as he looped one arm around her waist, sending small shivers travelling up and down her spine. He pulled her against his side as they walked, leaving La Riviera salsa club behind.

“No,” he said with a devastatingly beautiful smile. “No Puerto Rican parents. I don’t know, it just seemed easy to fall into the rhythm with you there.”

Carmen didn’t miss the way his eyes traveled over her crimson halter top, flowing black skirt, and three-inch heels. The heat that passed between them was undeniable, now and on the dance floor. What Carmen could not understand was why Nathan had not yet kissed her. As they walked, Carmen felt the tension thrumming through his body. She’d seen his eyes lingering on her lips countless times; in the hospital, at the park where they’d picnicked and even tonight at the club. Why then, after the weeks they’d spent together, was he holding back?

“I’m glad you had a good time,” she said softly, watching the concrete sidewalk pass under her feet as they walked. Nathan’s hand tightened at her hip and he pulled her to a stop just a few blocks away from her apartment building.

“What’s wrong?” he asked, bringing one hand up to cup her face.

She sighed and leaned into his hand, moaning low in her throat as he caressed her jaw with his thumb. Her eyes traveled over his face; dark skin, full lips, chiseled jaw and chin, and warm whiskey brown eyes that probed hers with raw intensity. It was as if he could see right into her soul. No man had ever looked at her that way. Sure, they’d all admired her body. Her blatantly sensual curves begged for attention. They noticed her pretty face and ample hips, but not one of them looked at her. Not the way Nathan did.

“I don’t want you to get the wrong idea,” she said reluctantly as she brought one hand up to his chest.

He smiled and slid his hand from her face to place it over her hand where it rested against his heart. She felt the heat of him emanating through his shirt. “What is it, beautiful?”

Her stomach clenched and the back of her neck tingled. How was it that this man made her so weak with just his words? She was already melting into a puddle at his feet and he had barely even touched her.

“Why won’t you kiss me?” she blurted before she had a chance to think about what she was saying.

Nathan frowned, his eyes lowering as he clenched her hand against his chest.

“Carmen,” he began, his voice serious.

Her eyes grew wide as she pulled her hand away. A step separated them and then another. Carmen’s heart stung from rejection.

“I understand,” she said. “You don’t have to say it. I thought you were attracted to me, but if you’re not—”

He closed the distance between them in an instant, bringing both hands up to her face this time. His body seared hers as their hips and thighs met and his forehead rested against hers.

“Dear God, Carmen, how could you think that? I’m so attracted to you that it hurts. It keeps me up at night. I am tortured with thoughts of you, every day and every night. I want to touch you and hold you and caress your skin. I want to kiss you and know what your lips feel like. I want to taste your tongue, your skin, your…” he trailed off, dragging in a ragged breath and releasing it with a frustrated groan.

“Can’t you feel it? I know you can.”

She nodded, their lips brushing as she did. He gasped, his lips trembling against hers. “Yes,” she whispered. Yes, she felt it, her skin was on fire.

“Carmen, please,” he pleaded, his hands shaking as they lowered to her waist. “I can’t…”

Even as he said the words, his open mouth was roaming over her face, caressing her eyelid and her temple before trailing down to her cheek. The fire blazing through her veins was now a raging inferno as his warm breath tickled her skin.

“I can’t,” he moaned against her lips, his breath coming in ragged gasps. As his fingers flexed against her skin, the small space separating their bodies closed and Carmen stifled a gasp at the feel of her sensitized breasts coming to rest against his hard, heaving chest.

“I can’t.”

His mouth hovered over hers, achingly, a sweet and terrible torture strong enough to reduce her to begging.

“Nathan,” she murmured. She wanted to say more. She wanted to ask all of the questions that bounced around in her head. Why can’t you? Why are you holding yourself back from me? Why won’t you just carry me up to my apartment and take me like we both know you want to?

But his name lingered between them, a plea, a prayer. Her hands clutched his lapel tightly as she closed the distance between them, sealing their lips together with a sigh. Nathan gasped into her mouth, his hands sweeping up from her hips to her back. His fingers dug into her skin as he pressed her against him, as tightly as possible, mating his mouth to hers.

They trembled, lost in their own seductive haze as they kissed beneath the yellow light of a glowing street lamp. His lips were unbelievably soft, pliant but moving with sureness as he drank from her lips as if she held his last breath. The kiss became wilder, more frenzied as their tongues touched, sparking a desire than ran deeper than ever and exploded into possessive need.

She felt the tightness of his muscles beneath her hands as she ran them over him; his chest, his shoulders, his back. She shuddered against him as his hands explored as well, roaming over her breasts and ribs before settling on her generous bottom, pressing her fully up against the hardening ridge between his hips.

When he finally tore his mouth away from her, they were both gasping for air. With every second that she stood in his arms, desire grew and swelled within her until she felt as if one touch from him would send her spiraling over the edge. He released her from his tight hold and reached for her hand, his eyes still wide and frantic as she placed her palm in his.

“Let’s get you home,” he said, his voice a raspy whisper. Tension coiled between them the entire walk home.

She’d thought that a kiss would satisfy her. She’d wanted it for weeks, wishing that he would sweep her against him and press his mouth to hers as he just had. But it just hadn’t been enough. As he kissed her goodnight—on the cheek—and left her apartment that night, Carmen knew that just one kiss would never be enough.

So let’s ask  our Questions for Fun.

SW : Which makes you go weak in the knees Southern Drawl or Scottish Burr?
EM :  Being from the South, I’ve got to go with that accent. There’s just something so charming and gentlemanly about it. And besides, when I hear a Scottish Burr, I am often reminded of Fat Bastard from Austin Powers….not at all sexy. I prefer the lilting tones of the Irishman.
SW : Guard Dog, Lap Dog or Independent Cat?
EM : I am definitely a Dog person….but it’s so hard to choose lap or guard! I have a Blue Heeler who’s a bit of both. She’s medium-sized so she can crawl up on the couch and snuggle….but she’s also super feisty and won’t let anybody near me if she thinks they’re a threat. I’d have to say I like the mix!
SW : Fur(wolfies) or Fangs(Vamps)?
EM : Definitely fur. There’s something about a primitively possessive shifter wolf that makes a girl go weak in the knees. Those animal instincts look good on a sexy man!
SW : Briefs, Boxers, Boxer-Briefs or Commando?
EM :  I love a pair of nice, TIGHT boxer briefs.
SW : Your idea of camping 5 Star Hotel or Canvas Tent?
EM : 5 star hotel for sure! I can’t sleep anywhere where there’s no toilet and no, port-o-potties don’t count!
SW : Cowboy or City boy?   Why?
EM : Cowboy of course. I love a man with callouses on his hands and a tan. They clean up nice too, but still keep that gruffness that makes them so appealing.
SW : Offspring or Home aloner?
EM :  Offspring, of course. I’ve got two!
SW : Umbrella Coctails or Longneck?
EM : I’m definitely an umbrella girl. Give me Sangria or a Mojito over Bud Light any day!
SW : Cake or IceCream?
EM : CAKE! I love it. In all flavors.
SW : Camel Ride or Elephant Ride?
EM :  Elephant.
SW : Breakfast at Tiffany’s or IHOP?
EM : Tiffany’s!
SW : Time Travel to the Future or the Past?
EM : I’d definitely go to the past. I’d love to wear a bustle and crinolines and twirl around a ballroom on the arm of a dazzling, rakish Duke.
SW : Quiet Night In or Wild Night Out?
EM : I got my partying out of my system early. Now that I’m a mom of two, I prefer the quiet nights in…I don’t know, though….if I crack open a bottle of wine and invite my girlfriends over, things can still get pretty wild! 🙂
SW : I think it’s always fun to get to ask Questions to kinda see inside an author’s mind.

SW : So let’s take a look at Elise’s short Bio

Elise Marion Bio (short)

Elise Marion is a lover books and has a special place in her heart for sweet and sensual romance. Writing about love across all walks of life is her passion, as is reaching people through the written word. The Army wife and stay-at-home mother of two spends most of her time taking care of her children. Her second job includes writing stories about characters that people can fall in love with. When the Texas native isn’t caring for her family or writing, you can usually find her with her nose in a book, singing loudly, or cooking up something new in the kitchen.

Here is another excerpt for Redemption: 

Excerpt 2:

When Nathaniel returned to Carmen’s room, she was thrashing around on the bed, sheets tangled around her legs, forehead dripping in a cold sweat. She mumbled in Spanish, her mewling and groaning piercing him like pinpricks. Through it all, he could only make out two words, ‘Elian’ and ‘no’. Phone call forgotten, Nathan closed the door and crossed the room swiftly, yanking the blankets away from her and lifting her against his chest.

She fought him, pummeling his chest with her fists and crying hysterically. Her nails scored his skin, but it was nothing compared to the pain that Nathan felt at seeing her this way.

“Shhh, I’m back now, love,” he whispered as he shook her gently, hoping to jolt her out of her hellish nightmare. He slipped into her thoughts just long enough to see that she was reliving Elian’s kidnapping. “Carmen, come on honey, wake up.”

Another shake—a little rougher this time—and Carmen stilled, her eyes flying open, her lips parted on a gasp. Tears leaked from the corners of her eyes and she grasped the front of her shirt in his fists, bringing her head up to his chest. Nathaniel held her and let her soak the front of his shirt, only letting go of her long enough to slip out of his coat. He rocked her and whispered to her, senseless words that had no meaning, words of comfort that were baseless because no matter how much he told her that everything was going to be all right, he knew that none of them would ever be the same again after this.

After a while, her sobs resided until all that could be heard was the occasional sniffle. He grasped Carmen’s shoulder and eased her back so that he could look into her face. His thumbs smoothed away stray tears and he kissed each of her cheeks.

“I’m sorry,” he said. “I didn’t mean to leave you for so long. The meeting with Reniel and Jackson took a little longer than I expected.”

Carmen, still clinging to his shirt, rested her forehead against his shoulder, filling his nostrils with the scent of her shampoo. Lust raged within him, but Nathan clamped down on it, denying the evil presence within him the satisfaction of dwelling on its disgusting fantasies about Carmen. That was one part of him that the demon couldn’t have.

“Reniel is back? What did he say; did he find Elian?”

“No, but we know where he is.”

Nathan held his breath, not wanting to say what he needed to say, but unwilling to lie to Carmen. He’d already done that once and had vowed never to do it again. She had to know.

“Just say it, Nathan,” she whispered, her fingers tightening around his shirt. “I need to hear you say it.”

“Hell.”

Silence.

For a moment Nathan wondered if Carmen had even heard him. She just sat there, her head rested against his shoulder.

After a minute or two, she stood, her eyes wide and filled with hurt. Her nostrils flared and her lips tightened in rage. In the blink of an eye she had grabbed the lamp resting on the nightstand beside her bed, snatched it from the wall and hurled it across the room. It collided with the mirror over her dresser, shattering it, the lamp and the bulb. Nathaniel extended his arm and halted the flying shards of glass in midair, one of which had been mere inches from Carmen’s beautiful face. With a flick of his wrist, the glass pieces were one again, resting back in the mirror’s wood frame. The lamp was on the nightstand once again.

“Get him back,” she said, her voice a raspy groan. Her bottom lip quivered and she swiped at her tears with the back of her hand. “You did this, Nathan. You get him back, do you hear me? I want my son! Get me my son!”

She collapsed against him again, her shoulders shaking, dry sobs wracking her body once again. Nathan gripped her shoulders tightly and forced her to look at him.

“Nothing will stop me from getting Elian back, Carmen,” he said, emphasizing every word so that she knew he meant what he said. “You’re right, I did do this! I didn’t want to deceive you by keeping what I was a secret from you. I certainly didn’t intend for you to get pregnant or for any of this to happen. I never wanted to have to leave you, but it’s better that I’m not in your life; better for you, better for Elian. I will do this for you and for him and then I have to leave again, this time for good. What I am will no longer be an issue for you, because I will ensure that you are left alone.”

Carmen leaned into him, sighing deeply as Nathan wrapped his arms around her. “What will you do?”

Nathan shook his head. “Don’t worry about that right now. I want you to try to rest again. I need to make some more phone calls and I need you well rested for tomorrow. We will leave to go after him first thing in the morning.”

“No!” she cried. “Don’t go, por favor. I need you.”

Nathan understood the intent in her words; it was written all over her face as she clung to him, staring up at him with turbulent eyes.

“Carmen, I can’t.”

“You can! You have to. You owe me this, Nathan. I’ve been without you for seven years and now our son is gone. I need you to give me this; I need it, and you owe me, Nathan.”

“Please,” she said again, reaching for the buttons on her silk blouse. Nathan sucked in a breath and turned his back swiftly, but not quick enough to avoid a glimpse of Carmen’s pink lace bra.

“Carmen,” he said, his voice a half-moan as he tried to force the vision from his mind. “What are you doing?”

“Love me, Nathan,” she whispered. The rustling of more clothes followed as she dropped them to the floor. “Don’t leave me when I need you now more than I ever did.”

There was no way he could resist her while she was so vulnerable and hurt. Against his better judgment, he turned and his eyes traveled over her from head to toe, taking in disheveled hair, tear-rimmed eyes, pouting lips stained with the remnants of pink lipstick, bronze skin begging for his touch, and a body made for sexual fantasy with its ripe curves. Nathan’s insides quivered and blood surged straight to his groin. Carmen was temptation itself. His demonic side filled his mind with lustful images, some that appealed, some that made his stomach turn, which only made him angry. His dark side would taint any intimacy with her, and Nathan could not allow that to happen. Carmen and Elian were the only pure spots in his now stained existence. That was one thing that he would never allow to be swallowed by ugliness.

Nathan took a deep breath and pulled on his discipline. He’d been using it for seven years and he hoped it wouldn’t fail him now. He flexed his fingers at his sides and walked over to the window, peering out at the setting sun through sheer, pink and red curtains.

“You were right when you said I’d changed,” he said without turning to look back at her. He didn’t have to look to picture her wrapped in nothing but pink lace panties and matching bra. “I am not a demon yet, but there is one inside of me. He is weak but can gain strength if I feed him. He…” Nathan trailed off, hanging his head in shame as he braced himself with his hand against the window frame. “He feeds on lust and depravity and has been filling my mind with thoughts that would make your insides curl ever since you touched me there on that bed. I can’t…I want to kiss you, Carmen, to hold you and touch you and…I just can’t. He would enjoy it too much and I can’t give him the satisfaction. Starving him is the only way to hold him off, to keep his impulses from driving mine.”

During his speech he hadn’t heard her crossing the room toward him. Yet suddenly her palm was on his back, burning his skin through the fabric of his shirt. He inhaled sharply and closed his eyes. Her touch was like Heaven and Hell all at once.

“Nathan, look at me.”

He shook his head. “Please, Carmen.”

“Look at me, Nathan.”

He couldn’t deny her. Nathan opened his eyes and turned, his body reacting to her half-nakedness by hardening and heating his blood to the boiling point. Pink lace cradled her secret places and shielded them from view. She was just as Nathan remembered her, yet she was even more at the same time.

“Do you remember the first time we kissed?”

“How could I forget? Salsa dancing at La Riviera and a walk home on a balmy night.”

He couldn’t stop it now; his body was closing the distance between them of its own will. His hands were on her shoulders. His palms tingled at the contact with her bare skin.

“You were wearing that flowing black skirt that showcases your calves perfectly and a red halter top. I can remember watching you dance that night and thinking that no woman had ever looked so beautiful and desirable.”

His fingers toyed with the hair resting on her shoulders before skimming down her arms.

“You had a red flower in your hair and you smelled like orchids. Over the last seven years, I’ve thought of that night often, and always recalled the smell of orchids.”

Nathan’s fingers circled her wrists and he lifted her arms until they were wrapped around his neck. She held on tight and stared up into his eyes.

“How could I ever forget?”

Carmen smiled. “When you remember that night, or any of the other times we were together, are your memories full of depravity or evil?”

Nathan trembled as her body made contact with his. He lowered his head and rested his forehead against hers.

“No, never.”

“Then it will not be that way now,” she assured him. “I won’t let it.”

SW :  Redemption is the conclusion of Elise Marion’s Angel’s Among Us Trilogy, here’s a look at the first two books.

  Fallen Book 1 Angels Among Us

In a world full of the sick and dying, the hurting and desperate, and those lost in darkness, angels dwell. An angel of healing, Amir has spent centuries performing miracles for people hovering at the very edge of death.

A professional ballerina, Shayla lives her life to dance. Abandoned by her family, she is alone in the world yet determined to pursue her dream. When a car accident leaves Shayla in critical condition and in danger of never dancing again, it seems that all hope is lost.

Amir enters Shayla’s life intending to heal her, but when he sees her laying in her hospital bed fighting for her life, something unfamiliar resounds within him. A stranger to desire and love, Amir is drawn to Shayla like a moth to a flame despite the fact that the rules of heaven forbid angels to engage in romantic relationships with mortals. Should he give in to temptation he will become one of the “Fallen”, demons cursed to the depths of hell for eternity.

As his desire for Shayla rises to fever pitch, Amir will face the choice between love and damnation, or loneliness and divinity. Will an angel who has roamed the earth alone for centuries choose to continue on the path of righteousness, or will he fall captive to his burning desires and be forever damned?

  Tempted book 2 Angels Among Us

In a world full of the sick and dying, the hurting and desperate, and those lost in darkness, angels dwell. Messenger angel Sarah is focused, dedicated to the cause of heaven in the war against hell. For centuries she has watched other angels succumb to temptation and break the rules governing relationships between angels and humans. Sarah has vowed to never become one of the ‘Fallen’ angels, now demons cursed to wander the depths of hell for eternity. She knows that she is stronger than the others, incapable of emotional attachment and the feelings of love and desire that can be so dangerous to her kind.

Jackson Bennett is alone in the world, and he prefers it that way. The former Army sergeant has seen more death than any human ought to experience in one lifetime. Even his dreams are haunted by the faces of those who have lost their lives because of him. He feels lost, purposeless, until an encounter with an angel reveals the secret purpose that he was made for. Born of a superior race of humans, Jackson learns of a special assignment. Should he accept, he will become an important part of world that exists between heaven, hell, and earth. After all that he has been through, Jackson doesn’t know if he’s ready to take on such a heavy responsibility; what he does know is that he could lose himself in the eyes of Sarah, the intriguing angel assigned to him. She is the only person who seems to understand the darkness and pain that have enveloped his heart; she is the only person capable of driving them away.

In a battle between love or loneliness, divinity or damnation, Sarah’s choice once seemed easy. What she finds is that the black and white lines that once defined her world are now impossibly blurred and gray. What she finds is that she may not be not quite as strong as she thought.

Since Rafflecopter does like WordPress and I don’t really like Rafflecopter here is the link where you need to go to enter Elise’s contest. www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/67738e35/

And here is a look at what Elise is kindly giving away.

A Angels Among Us Coffee Mug : here are two views        

She’s also got 10 signed Angels Among Us  bookmarks to give out.

A very loverly bracelet complete with Angle Wings.  

A  copy of Fallen the first book in the series.    I think this is digital only.

So I hope everyone enjoyed meeting Elise today and here is where you can go and pop in to visit her.

Also Elise is in the house today so please ask her a question or talk about her books if you have read them. I will try to pop in now and then myself now that I get out of bed and am almost fully recovered.
Enjoy Life!
Z Seawitch
