Hey Everybody, Girl Friday here. Sorry I wrote this a while ago but didn’t get a chance to post it for mom.

So mom still isn’t feeling good.  Her blood keeps going up and down and she has had two more monthly’s since Nov 10th, they are coming about every 2 weeks.  She has been to the hospital a few more times and otherwise she is doing her best to rest as ordered. She also isn’t allowed to drive as she spends a lot of time dizzy but dad says that’s because she was born a blonde, lol.  But she almost crashed the car so no driving so she is being good and sleeps a lot.

She goes in the first week of January for surgery. They’re also going to be doing a biopsy to make sure she doesn’t have cancer. She’s still getting tired really easily which is why she hasn’t been posting lately and she is feeling upset because she hasn’t been able to post. Just getting the kids ready for school causes her to need a nap and she’s been sleeping til they get home.

I’ll be trying to post for her until she’s better but it might be spotty because I don’t have a working computer or internet, I dropped my laptop. I’m over at my sister’s house using hers. Mom also wanted everyone to know that she’ll be trying to get the rest of the prizes out asap.   for those that have won contests.   If I was there I’d do it for her and dad and Liz are not too much help with the mailings.

So I found a couple of recipe books at the library that I copied a bunch of recipes out of. And I’ll be posting a review later for Stephanie Meyer’s “The Host”

So today I noticed persimmons at Wal-Mart and I just so happen to have a recipe for them. 🙂

Southern Pies. By Nancie McDermott. Chronicle Books, San Francisco. 2010.   Persimmon Pie      makes on 9 inch pie        pg 94-95

  • pastry for 9 inch single crust pie
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup evaporated milk
  • 2 eggs, beaten well
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cup persimmon pulp
  1. Heat oven to 400F. Line 9 inch pie pan with crust and crimp edges decoratively.
  2. In a small bowl, combine the sugar, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Stir with a fork to mix well. In a medium bowl, combine the milk, eggs, and butter, and stir with a whisk or fork to combine them. Add the sugar mixture and stir to dissolve. Add the persimmon pulp*, and stir to combine well.
  3. Pour the filling into piecrust and place on the middle shelf of oven. Bake for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 350F  and bake until pie is fairly firm, shiny, and cracking edges, about 30-40 minutes more.
  4. Place pie on cooling rack or folded towel and let cool for at least 45 minutes. Serve warm or room temperature.

*Note: You can use Hachiya and Fuyu persimmons for this pie. If persimmon is firm, core it and then peel off skin. If it is soft, cut it open, remove stem portion, and scoop the moist pulp right off skin from inside. Either way, discard seeds. Puree the pulp in food processor or blender and you’re ready to go with your pie.

Stephanie Girl Friday

Update

Mom went in and had her levels checked, her iron is the highest it’s been a 11.9 but she still has the pounding heart and in her ears and dizziness at times and fatigue, she’s sleeping almost every time I call. She was checked to see if she had stones as well because of pain but hasn’t heard back yet.

But the good news is the biopsy came back with no cancer, I cried when she told me because I was afraid to lose her. She will have her surgery Jan 8th. She has caught a bug though from my dad and siblings and will hopefully be rid of it before her surgery.

She also said it’s ironic that she looks like the one thing she is afraid of…a zombie, she is pale and has dark circles around her eyes.  They changed her iron to a bigger dose three times a day and a Super B – Vit with Vit C and if she forgets to take them her iron drops fast.

Before they changed it her levels kept going between 8.2 and 10.2, hence the fatigue. It’s sheer stubbornness I think that kept her going for so long in the beginning, but years of being a mom and putting herself last have caught up to her and I’m stuck in RI but I’m going to try to get back to WV to help out after her surgery.

Mom says she’ll try to get on soon since she isn’t as dizzy when she gets up now.

Updates Update

Sorry, I thought mom was going to look this over and post it, she said no to go ahead and post. She doesn’t have stones either, yeah but she does have a sinus infection and something with  her lungs so she is off to the doctor again  to see and hopefully not have to reschedule her surgery.

The other good news is I got my job back at AutoZone but that means I won’t be going to WV to be with mom after her surgery but now I’ll have money again, yeah. A little bit anyway, better than none.

