Hi everyone,

Girl Friday here. So I wanted to let everyone know that Mom is doing well after her surgery. Her iron is at the minimum level and not dropping constantly. Her doctor said that soon she might be able to go down to taking one iron pill a day instead of two. Her hands are shaking so she has trouble typing right now. Dad is doing well after his surgery as well. He went in the day after Mom. They took a ton of samples from his throat/esophagus to check for cancer. I guess that a lot of people who have Gerd get esophageal cancer. I’ll have updates for him as well.

So I’ve been working a lot more than I was told I would because we just built and moved into a new store. It’s nice but it makes it difficult to try to do posts on here. But I’m gonna be taking L’s extra laptop to my house so hopefully I can post more often.

News about Nanuq is next. I have discovered that I do not have the temperament needed for a puppy or the time. My friend Jessie will be moving in with me in the next couple months and she’s gonna keep Nuq for me. Then when Jessie moves back home to CO in about a year she will be taking Nuq with her. It was a sad discovery for me and a hard decision but at least I found someone who will love her. But here is a pic of her now.

SAMSUNG

She’s asleep on my boyfriend’s pillow (well it is my pillow but the one he uses when he stays over). I sent him the pic and he was worried she slobbered on it. Lol. I’ve been dating my boyfriend for two months now. He made me dinner this past weekend. I’d never had anyone do that before. 🙂 We’ll call him B. B lives about an hour and a half away and he works in a bank. Mom is happy because he’s got Scottish blood and owns a kilt. Lol. He’s told me that if I make a Scottish dinner that he’ll wear his kilt to it. Here’s a pic of him from about a year ago. His hair is a little longer now. He’s from Nova Scotia, Canada. One of the places I’d really like to visit. The other pic is from New Year’s Eve right after midnight. I was in the process of sticking out my tongue. Lol.

312243_10150339955722595_1721402092_n

SAMSUNG

Alright, enough about all that. I love mac and cheese and so I got a recipe book from the library dedicated solely to this delicious dish. I tried this recipe the other night and it was awesome!! I hope everyone gives it a try and finds it as yummy as I did.

Macaroni and Cheese: 52 Recipes from, From Simple to Sublime

By Joan Schwartz.

Villard Books, New York. Ó 2001.

Rigatoni al Forno        makes 4 servings           pg 45-46

  • 1 lb. rigatoni
  • 2 c. heavy cream, plus extra if needed
  • 1 c. whole milk, plus extra if needed
  • 1 small clove garlic, crushed and minced
  • ¼ lb. Gorgonzola Dolce cheese, broken into small pieces (1 cup)
  • 1 cup (¼ lb.) grated Grana Padano or Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • ¼ tsp dried oregano or 1 tsp chopped fresh oregano
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • ¼ lb. unsalted fresh mozzarella cheese, cut into ¼ inch dice
  • ¼ lb Fontina Val d’Aosta cheese, rind removed, cut into ¼ inch dice
  • Olive oil for the baking dish
  • 2 tbsp plain bread crumbs
  1. Preheat the oven to 400° F.
  2. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat and cook the pasta until al dente, 10-12 minutes. Drain and place in a mixing bowl.
  3. While the pasta is cooking, in a medium shallow pot or skillet (preferably stainless steel) over medium-high heat, combine the cream and milk and bring to a simmer. Add the garlic; then stir in the gorgonzola. When the cheese has melted, add all but 1 tablespoon of the Grana Padano, reduce the heat to medium, and cook, stirring occasionally, until the sauce is moderately thick and creamy, 10-12 minutes. Remove from heat and add the oregano and pepper.
  4. Pour the cream sauce over the pasta. Add the mozzarella and Fontina Val d’Aosta and mix well. The mixture should be moist and creamy; if it is too dry, add a little more milk or cream.
  5. Brush the bottom and sides of a 9×13 inch baking dish (preferably terra cotta) with olive oil and pour in the pasta, which should almost entirely fill the baking dish. Sprinkle with the bread crumb and remaining Grana Padano. Bake on the middle shelf until the sauce is bubbling and the top is golden brown and crisp, 20-25 minutes.

Notes: I don’t like rigatoni pasta so I used radiatore instead. I think it worked fine and it’s smaller so little kids will be able to fit it in their mouths easily. I also couldn’t find the Fontina cheese so I used Asiago cheese instead. And this makes way more than 4 servings. It literally fills the pan almost to the top. It’s probably more like 6 servings.

SAMSUNG

Fine ❤

