I wanted to pop in and let everyone know I’m alive and feeling a good bit better.  Denny had his surgery the day after me up at the VA in Pittsburgh, we like his new doctor. Denny was able to eat food he hadn’t eaten for quite a while for a week, now he’s starting to struggle to eat again. He goes sees his doctor up at the VA in Pittsburg at the end of the month. My surgery went well I guess, I remember them giving me the pre sleepy medicine and rolling me out the first set of doors and heading for the second set and that’s it until I woke up in post-op. I was the first person to go in for surgery and apparently I was the last one to wake up. Then just as they rolled me into my room I started throwing up and up and up for hours. I wasn’t released until 3 pm and only then because I held it in. I need to find out the name of whatever they used on me to add to my short list of Demerol and ???,  please don’t use these – they make me sick as a dog.

My iron is coming up, last Tues I finally hit the bare minimum but when I went in for my surgery they told me my white blood cell count was really low too.  The dark Circles under my eyes have gotten better, so yeah I’m losing the Zombie look. The dizziness is less frequent but I get the shakes in my hands and feel sick to my tummy sometimes. I’m still bleeding, more than after the surgery, anyone else have this happen??? I still get like period cramping pain too.  Denny takes me back to the OB/GYN tomorrow. I am now also on a cpap for mild sleep apnea and the Sleep doctor asked me if anyone in my family history had Narcolepsy. He said my brain is way to active at night, he couldn’t believe how active it was and so now I know why I can’t seem to stay awake for very long during the day. Before I got sick I could stay awake all day but I felt like I was dragging and would sometimes take a wee nap.  But after I got sick I just couldn’t seem to keep my eyes open. So no long distance driving for me without someone else in the car, to catch me if I start to get tired. I’ve almost wrecked the car twice from dozing off on trips where I’ve had to drive for 3 or so hours. So who wants to ride with me???? You’re driving!!!  I do take it seriously but you know you have to put some humor in life.

I know you I owe many of you some books still, but I’m glad I didn’t get them sent out right away. Denny came home from North Carolina back in Nov when I came close to dying and he stayed home to take care of me because my iron kept dropping and I was sleeping all day and night. On Dec 29 he received his termination notice for excessive absenteeism. We understood, they needed workers that could work and he turned down jobs for 6 weeks. Which meant we had to use money out of my blog account since he wasn’t getting any paychecks and we’d just used what was left in our joint account. He is still looking for another job.  So again I apologize for not getting everyone’s books out, I’d like to get them off my table they are hogging the end. I’ll be getting them mailed out by the first though.

I want to leave you all with a yummy recipe with potatoes for my good friend SE and with sweet potatoes for me from Allrecipes.com. Here is the link  http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sweet-potato-potato-salad/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=potatoes&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Recipe

Potatoe salad   Sweet Potato Potato Salad

Ready in about 2 hours.  Original recipe makes 8 servings

2  potatoes                 1  sweet potato             4  eggs

2 stalks celery, chopped           1/2 onion, chopped

3/4 cup  mayonnaise           1 tablespoon prepared mustard

1 teaspoon  salt            1 1/2 teaspoons  ground black pepper

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.  Add potatoes and cook until tender but still firm, about 30 minutes. Drain, cool, peel and chop.
  2. Place eggs in a saucepan and cover with cold water. Bring water to a boil. Cover, remove from heat, and let eggs stand in hot water for 10 to 12 minutes. Remove from hot water; cool, peel and chop.
  3. Combine the potatoes, eggs, celery and onion.
  4. Whisk together the mayonnaise, mustard, salt and pepper. Add to potato mixture, toss well to coat. Refrigerate and serve chilled.

shell

Oven Roasted Sweet and Regular Potatoes

Another thing I like to do is line a bar pan with foil with enough hanging over to cover the potatoes. I then peel and cut up several potatoes and some sweet potatoes into bite size chucks and spread them out in the pan and cover with about 2 sticks of Real butter cut up. Fold the foil over and seal. Cook about and 1/2 hour and stir to coat it in the melted butter. Cook for another 1/2 hour, they are done when you can easily pierce the sweet potatoes.

I have a big family so I cut up ALOT of potatoes and the sweet potatoes adds a yummy sweetness. Salt and pepper to taste and add or take away some of the butter as needed. Sorry I just love real butter, you can use the fake stuff.

And on a closing note…I love you all and thank you Stephanie my Gel Friday to doing a few posts for me and updating everyone on your da and me.

Z  Seawitch

