Hello Everyone

I hope you all will join with me and welcome a new to me author the lovely Ranae Rose.  Ranae-Rose

Official Bio:

Ranae Rose is a best-selling author of over a dozen contemporary, paranormal and historical romances, all of them delightfully steamy. She lives on the US East Coast with her husband, child, German Shepherd dogs and overflowing bookshelves. She spends most of her time letting her very active imagination run wild, penning her next story. When she’s not writing or lost in her latest read, she can usually be found indulging her love of her two favorite sports – martial arts and horseback riding.

Ranae has two books out that deal with the military and the effects of PTSD and so I asked if she could stop by and visit.  In her stories our wounded warrior deals with his PTSD by using his martial art skills in the world of MMA.

First we have Battered Not Broken   Battered Not Broken

War and violent crime cut deep – can love for another person run deeper than the scars left behind?

Ryan Moore forged his own path when he defied his wealthy family’s expectations by joining the United States Marine Corps as an enlisted man. After a period of service that’s cut short by an IED explosion, the lingering physical and mental effects of war result in an isolated struggle to exist in the civilian world. He throws himself into competitive MMA fighting – the one thing he’s still able to excel at, even if every match is a risk he can’t afford to take.

His first encounter with amateur female fighter Ally Rivera ignites a spark of desire he hasn’t felt since before a bomb left its marks on his life and his body, but his flirtation with her turns out to be anything but harmless. She’s struggling to hold together a family ravaged by violence – a feat that isn’t easy when her father has been imprisoned, leaving her vulnerable to relatives who run a local gang. Can two unrelenting fighters overcome challenges they couldn’t defeat alone, or do the wounds of war and crime run too deep for even love to heal?

The second book is titled Rough Around the Edges and is written from Ryan point of view it has just released.

Rough-Around-the-Edges-

Sometimes love is enough. Other times, you have to fight for it.

Raw, real romance from an all-male point of view.

For Ryan Moore, the choice to fight is like the choice to breathe – necessary. After being wounded in war and discharged from the United States Marine Corps, competitive MMA fighting is the only thing he’s still able to excel at. Every round is a risk he can’t afford to take, but time spent outside of the cage is purgatory, until he meets female fighter Ally Rivera. For the first time since an IED blast destroyed life as he knew it, he wants something – someone. And she wants him, but the lingering effects of war might just tear them apart, if the gang violence that plagues her family doesn’t kill them first.

Rough Around the Edges is Ryan’s side of the love story told in Battered Not Broken. It’s not a sequel, but a separate novel written for those who want to experience the story through Ryan’s eyes. Read Battered Not Broken first or simply dive right in and enjoy an erotic romance novel told completely from a male point of view.

shell

SW: Ranae PTSD is such a serious subject and affects so many of our returning military what inspired  you decide to write about it?

RR:  I grew up in a heavily-military family. I’ve always wanted to write a military romance, but I didn’t want it to just be some man-in-uniform fantasy type of story where everything is great and the hero has an idealized military career. Committing to the military means committing to challenges while enlisted and after, and I wanted my story to portray that. So I set Battered Not Broken & Rough Around the Edges nine months after Ryan (the hero) was discharged from the United States Marine Corps, and conditions caused by war, such as PTSD and a TBI (traumatic brain injury) play strong roles in the story and the development of his and Ally’s relationship.

SW: Why did you decide to write a second book but from Ryan’s POV?RR: From the beginning, while writing Battered Not Broken, it was my intention to write a second book from Ryan’s POV. I had both his and Ally’s stories and view points in my head from the get-go, but I felt that I couldn’t do either of them justice if I tried to cram both into a single book. Ryan and Ally are both strong characters with very different stories, issues and view points. I didn’t want to sell either of them short, so I wrote two separate full-length novels.

shell

So Ranae let’s get to some Questions For Fun:

SW: Which makes you go weak in the knees Southern Drawl or Scottish Burr?

RR:  Scottish Burr. I love reading Highland romances! Plus, I live in the South so Southern accents aren’t exotic to me like Scottish ones.

SW: Guard Dog, Lap Dog or Independent Cat?

RR: Guard dog. I have two German Shepherds.

SW: Fur(wolfies) or Fangs(Vamps)?

RR: So hard to choose! I guess if I had to choose one it would be the wolves.

SW: Time Travel to The Future or to The Past?

RR: The past. I love history and if I could somehow magically go back in time and witness it for myself, I would. Thinking about the future doesn’t excite me.

SW: Your idea of camping 5 Star Hotel or Canvas Tent?

RR: 5 star hotel. I have unbelievably bad camping luck. Every time I go, it’s a disaster. And I always hear things creeping by in the woods and wonder whether it’s bigfoot or a bear or something else that I don’t want to be lying six feet from with just a flimsy layer of canvas between us. Camping is not my thing!

SW: Cowboy, City Slicker or Man of Mystery?

RR: Ooh, cowboy. I love to ride. *ahem* Horses, that is. I have two of my own.

SW: Offspring or Home aloner?

RR: I have a son. I’m never alone, though I’ve been known to hide in the bathroom with my kindle on occasion.

SW: Umbrella cocktails or Longneck?

RR: Longneck.

SW: Favorite IceCream?

RR: Anything with lots of chocolate, and maybe some peanut butter.

SW: Briefs, Boxer-Briefs or Commando?

RR: Boxer-briefs.

SW: Camel Ride or Elephant Ride?

RR: Elephant.

SW: Breakfast at Tiffany’s or IHOP?

RR: IHOP. I like any place that gives me a whole carafe of coffee instead of just a cup (as if I’m only going to want one cup!).

SW: Quiet Night In or Wild Night Out?

RR: I’d settle for either. As a mother, what I usually get is a wild night in (and by wild I mean trying to wrangle my son).

shell

Thank you Ranae for dropping by today and chatting about your latest two books. Ranae has offered a digital copy of Battered Not Broken to a commenter. Winner will be chosen Friday and announced at the end of the Tortured Hero Hop where you can win a copy of Rough Around the Edges along with a few others stories about tortured heroes.

Here is where you can go to check Ranae and her books out.

http://www.ranaerose.com/   Website

http://www.ranaerose.com/?page_id=88  Blog

https://www.facebook.com/ranae.rose.33  Facebook

https://twitter.com/Ranae_Rose  Twitter

http://pinterest.com/ranaerose/ Pinterest

