Hi y’all!

Well its Monday again and I’ve definitely been doing some baking for your delight. This week I wanted to try one of the recipes I had found in a book about southern pies. And my sister left me a big container of frozen blueberries for me to use so I found a blueberry cookbook at the library and found a delicious recipe for blueberry crumble.

I’ve been taking care of L’s cats while she’s been gone and unfortunately for me the female went into heat and is risking discovery by the landlord. I’m hoping that the male isn’t old enough yet to impregnate her.

This week cannot be over soon enough. One good thing though is that this week is Shark Week! It’s one of my favorite events on TV. I’m a big fan of shark conservation and I feel that having shark week helps educate people on the importance of sharks to the ocean ecology and that they aren’t evil things trying to kill us. But enough about that, on to the recipes.

First up is the coconut custard pie.
981839_10101614375325959_791866809_o

242428_10101614375171269_902757114_o
You can see the deliciousness of the pie and in the one picture is Petey the photobomber. Lol.

Southern Pies
By: Nancie McDermott
Chronicle Books, San Francisco. 2010
Coconut Custard Pie    pg 19       makes one 9 inch pie

  • pastry for a 9 inch single crust pie (homemade or store bought)
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 tbsp. flour
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 c. whole milk
  • 1/2 c. butter, melted
  • 3 eggs, beaten well
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 c. shredded or flaked coconut, sweetened or unsweetened
  1. Heat the oven to 325 degrees F. Line a 9 inch pie pan with crust and then crimp edges decoratively.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine the sugar, flour and salt, and stir with a whisk or a fork to combine them well. Add the milk, butter, eggs, and vanilla, and stir to combine everything evenly and well. Stir in the coconut, and mix well. Pour the filling into the piecrust.
  3. Place the pie on the bottom rack of the oven and bake until the filling is firm, dry, puffing up and golden brown, 45-55 minutes. Place the pie on a cooling rack or folded kitchen towel and let cool to room temperature.

I made this pie and took it to work. It got rave reviews. It has the delicious custard that the coconut floats to the top of and bakes. And it doesn’t take long to prep it at all.

shell

Next up is the Blueberry Crumble. I made this last night to use up the berries I had left over from the trifle.

1120100_10101614374976659_1878997820_o

True Blueberry

By: Linda Dannenberg

Stewart, Tabori, & Chang,  New York. 2005

Blueberry Crumble           pg 96            serves 4-6

For the Filling:

  • 3 c. fresh blueberries
  • 1/4 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp. cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice

For the topping:

  • 1 1/2 c. all purpose flour
  • 1/2 c. light brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 c. finely chopped pecans or almonds (optional)
  • 1 stick ( 8 tbsp.) unsalted butter, chilled and cut into bits
  1.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. To make the filling: In a large bowl, combine the blueberries, sugar, cornstarch, and lemon juice and stir to coat the berries. Transfer the mixture to a 2-quart shallow baking dish or an 8 or 9-inch square baking pan. Set aside.
  3. To make the topping: In a large bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, salt, pecans if you wish, and the butter.
  4. Using a fork, a pastry blender, or your fingertips, mash the ingredients together until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
  5. Sprinkle the topping mixture over the berry mixture, covering the berries evenly. Bake in the center of the oven for 30-40 minutes, until the topping is nicely browned and the berries are bubbling. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Note: I used defrosted frozen blueberries. I just drained the juice off before adding them to the filling ingredients. The recipe didn’t say if the brown sugar should be packed so I packed mine. And I didn’t have lemon juice so I used lime instead. This was delicious. I ate mine with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

I hope you guys enjoy these recipes. Happy Monday from Girl Friday.

