Just learned that Ella is offering a digital  giveaway of THE SEDUCTION OF LADY PHOEBE.  Y’all just comment to be included in the drawing. Giveaway ends @12am est 9-22-13 with the winner announced shortly thereafter.  Good luck!

Thank you for stopping by to visit, Ella.

Thank you for having me, Miss Ivy. 

A bit about yourself, please.

I’ve had several different lives before I became a writer. Started out going from high school to college, but quickly became bored when I discouraged from studying what I wanted to. After I quit college, I played in a band, but really wasn’t that good. I also tended bar, then on a whim enlisted the Army. At the time, the motto was join the Army and see the world.  I’d moved quite a bit as a child, and had lived in Canada, Spain and Morocco, so I thought it would be a good fit, and my first assignment was, because they encouraged my creativity. After that my tendency to dislike authority figures started getting in the way of my wanting to continue. I ended up leaving, and going back to school. But the Army helped me become focused and organized, which helps a lot with my writing.

Did you always want to be a writer?

No, I wrote poetry in high school, and one of my teachers thought I should try to have it published, but my grandmother threw it away. Other than technical articles, I didn’t write again until about two and a half years ago.

How have your travels influenced your writing?

Since I’ve lived in different countries, I’ve had to learn to fit in with the cultures. Those experiences made me realize that I really needed to get a handle on the Regency culture, in order to set my characters in that world. 

Why historicals and why Regency?

There was no conscious thought involved. I’d wanted to write something, and a image of an angry lady in Regency dress started playing in my mind. I sat down and wrote the book. 

seduction of lady phoebePlease describe Lady Phoebe Stanhope in twenty words or less.

Smart, educated, self-assured in all areas of her life except in love.

Please describe Lord Marcus Finley in twenty words or less.

Troubled young adult, who changed his life around. Stubborn, determined, funny. 

THE SEDUCTION OF LADY PHOEBE is your debut, can you tell us about it and The Marriage Game series?

All the books in The Marriage Game are related through male friends. Sometimes the women know each other as well. With the sole exception of Marcus, in the first book, the men have been marriage adverse. They know they have to wed at some point, but aren’t in any hurry, until they meet the one woman who challenges them.

Was your road to being published rocky or fairly easy?

Compared to some, it was pretty easy, but that’s not to say I didn’t have a ton of rejections. I just didn’t let them get me down. I also put a lot of effort into it. I had my agent eight months after I started writing and sold less than a year later.

What does your muse require to get those creative juices flowing?

Silence. Other than that, she’s a slave driver. 

What do you consider essential character traits for a hero?

Some sort of flaw. Either something he’s done in the past that he has to overcome, or a personality trait that keeps him from falling in love. A sense of humor, and the ability to love his heroine to distraction. 

A heroine?

Inner strength, the determination not to settle for anything less than love, something she is passionate about, also a sense of humor, and a flaw of some sort. 

Is there another genre you’d like to try writing?

So far, nothing else has called to me. Though I do have a time-travel floating around in my mind, it still includes the Regency.

Do you have a favorite book or character someone else has written?

Several, Clair in the Outlander series, most of Georgette Heyer’s heroines, especially Venetia, and Sophy. 

Have you read anything lately you’d highly recommend?

Yes! Miranda Neville’s The Ruin of  a Rake. 

Do you have a WIP you can share with us?

Right now I’m working on book #6. The working title is Lady Mary. She is being pursued by her cousin who wants her inheritance, and her grandmother and the hero’s grandmother are scheming to get them together.

I love scheming grandmothers…they’re usually a lot of fun.  Sounds good, Ella.

Thank you for taking time to visit the Book Nook, Ella.  We’ve enjoyed it.

Thank you so much for having me on. I’ve loved visiting with you.

Visit Ella              Amazon             Blog

