EnchantedByAnEmerald_Bundle_1400px

Nice to have you visit again, Catherine.  It’s been a while. What have you been up to since last we saw you?

Hi!  Yes, it has been a while! I’m thrilled to be back at Miss Ivy’s Book Nook. Thanks so much for having me as a guest. 
I’ve actually been very busy over the past couple of years, self-publishing all of my medieval romance novels that were formerly issued in paperback. It’s been a big learning curve figuring out how to format and produce the eBooks and, with a couple of my novels, Create Space print editions. However, I love having control over the entire manuscript, from cover design to interior layout to back blurb. My computer genius husband has been a huge help; I couldn’t have succeeded without him! I also do all of my book marketing, which is time consuming but fun. Self-publishing has brought me many new readers and opportunities, and I am incredibly grateful. 

There’s your Knight’s series~

#1 A KNIGHT’S VENGEANCE   #2 A KNIGHT’S REWARD

#3 A KNIGHT’S TEMPTATION & #4 A KNIGHT’S PERSUASION.

But you’ve been a part of several anthologies lately. Can you share a bit about those with us?

A while back, I saw that authors writing in the same genre were working together to produce boxed sets of novels and sell them at $0.99, as a way to reach new readers. I decided to give it a try, and it was one of the best marketing strategies I’ve done. I have five boxed sets out now, in collaboration with wonderful medieval writers including Denise Domning, Eliza Knight, Laurel O’Donnell, Anna Markland, and Kathryn Le Veque.

I also did a boxed set of my novels, entitled Medieval Rogues, which contains A Knight’s Vengeance, the first book of my Knight’s Series; My Lady’s Treasure, my novel that won the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence; and my sexy novella Bound by His Kiss. Medieval Rogues was the #1 selling medieval on Kindle for about five months. All of the sets I’ve done have hit that #1 spot, which is very exciting.

What about your latest anthology?

EnchantedByAnEmeraldAnthology_1400pxOh, yes! Enchanted by an Emerald is a collection of seven novellas by the Jewel Box Authors—me, Caro Carson, T. Elliott Brown, Wynter Daniels, Nancy Robards Thompson, Mimi Wells, and USA Today bestselling author Katherine Garbera. All of the stories focus on a precious emerald that’s rumored to unite soul mates. My medieval novella, A Knight to Remember, is the first in the anthology and sets up the romantic legend of the stone, which then turns up in the second story in the hands of a pirate. The emerald is shattered into three pieces; one of them ends up with a soldier in World War II, the other two pieces in modern times. The final novella reunites the pieces of what’s known as the Brigonne Emerald in a museum exhibition.  

This anthology came to be on the way to Romance Writers of America’s © national conference in Atlanta last year. During the drive, Wynter, Teresa, Caro, and I got talking about writing and came up with the idea of a series of anthologies about different precious stones. After we got home, Wynter held a lunch meeting at her house, where we brainstormed the idea, decided our first project would be about an emerald, set writing and publishing deadlines, and then got to work! I’m really proud of what we’ve accomplished and the stories are terrific! Enchanted by an Emerald is available both in eBook and print (for our readers who prefer to read a bound book rather than an eBook). We’re planning to release our next Jewel Box Authors anthology in late 2015.

Sounds exciting…

Do you have a WIP you can share?

I’m currently working on a medieval Christmas novella, to be published in a boxed set in November or December. It’s called One Knight Under the Mistletoe and is a reunion story. It’s both funny and poignant. 

What else can we look forward to from you?

One of my works-in-progress is the last novel in the Knight’s Series, called A Knight’s Seduction. I’ve received a lot of email about this book; it’s taking me longer to write because there are many story threads I need to wrap up, and I want this final novel to be extra good! Readers are quite impatient to know what happens with my bad-boy character named Tye. I love what I’ve written of the story so far and if all goes well, will release A Knight’s Seduction in 2015. 

Have you read anything you’d highly recommend lately?

I’ve been reading Steampunk romances. Very fun! I’d love to try writing one at some point. 

Do you have a favorite quote that inspires you or touches you?

My dear friend Nancy Robards Thompson gave me a wooden plaque that says: “All you need is love…and a cat.” Romance writers and cats just seem to go together, don’t they? We are all Joan Wilders (I love that movie, Romancing the Stone!). J Kai, our kitty who is part Maine Coon, loves to lie on the dining room table where I work and keep me company. He does kitty yoga stretches, blinks his cute golden eyes, talks to me, and then will take a nap—but he’s always there with me, every day. 

Is there anything you’d like readers to be aware of?

I’d love them to know how much I appreciate them! Since I was four years old, I wanted to be a writer; I am living my dream, and it wouldn’t be possible without readers. For everyone who has ever bought copies of my books, thank you! 

Website     FB

Catherine is generously giving away an ecopy of A KNIGHT’S VENGEANCE or DANCE OF DESIRE to two (2) commenters.  One (1) winner for each book, two (2) winners total.  What is so appealing about the medieval era?  Is it the clothes, castles, knights, chivalry, what?  Please add your preferred book choice order & format should the random number gods smile on you. 🙂 Good Luck y’all! 

a knights vengeancedance of desire

